Reviews and comments for Sunny beach

Add review Please click on button [Add review] and share with us your opinion. By sharing your experiences you're helping travellers make better choices for their trips. Thank you!

Comments for Sunny beach

Steve | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful My daughter and her 2 friends have just been (July 2017) hotel was well below expected average 4 stars probably equivalent to 1 or 2 stars at home). Rude staff at shops and restaurants. They couldn't go anywhere without perverts and groups of local men following them, even being offered money for sexual favours. Had to run away from these types several times, (gangsters prostitutes and beggars everywhere) so not recommended for young girl groups. They absolutely hated the place from the moment they arrived, and after only 3 days of suffering this they had had enough. My daughter rang me up crying and desperate to come back home as ([+]view more) she and her friends did not feel safe anywhere. Had to book them all an early flight home as they couldn't stand it any longer. Even the final taxi to the airport they feared for there lives as the driver doing 120 mph and on his phone screaming at the top of his voice in Bulgarian and mentioning the hotel he had just picked them up from. They really thought they were going to die or be kidnapped or something. They were so relieved to get back and have sworn to never go near the place again. Absolute disgrace. Only good thing was the weather. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Norman P. | 4 out of 4 found this review helpful Like Bulgaria, and in winter (Borovets, Bansko) and summer (Sunny Beach, Golden Sands). Prices all in leva, cheap beer, red wine is better to buy a bottle (not bowls), Pliska brandy very decent quality, Bulgaria is a country of large plates, it is better to order specialty in any cafe, Restaurant: salads - it's just chopped vegetables, there are happy hours: you pay for a cocktail, bring two. The music is a cafe up to 12 hours, then everything falls silent. Beaches in Bulgaria's municipalities, so there's no fences, deck chair, umbrella - 6 leva at the pool + umbrella 4 left, but you can walk along the beach all the 8 ([+]view more) km free! Went to Nessebar repeatedly on a scheduled bus, in the Bulgarian countryside, fishing, yachting. Aquapark liked very much, is there better to go for half a day. In 2008, rested on the Golden Sands: Sunny Beach is better! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No ms karen tibbs | 4 out of 7 found this review helpful Stayed at the Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort last year enjoyed it food was ok plenty to pick from the only thing is there is nothing for the adults to do in the evening but drink at the bar or go out of the hotel going back again this year has it is cheap we go half broard and we are going back with friends we meet out there last year you should go we had a laugh. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Doina | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful I recomend Riviera Hotel, is a very good place. Many thanks to Genoveva, for her personal services, she arraged and take care for all our group (22 persons). Was this review helpful to you? Yes No maria hollis | 4 out of 4 found this review helpful sunny beach is a very friendlly resort, everywhere is still quite cheap. weve been four times now would recommend to anybody as a good holiday, but, do not stay at the pomorie hotel as their standards are now very, very low. Last year, 2009, they were quite good, this year they need help. There are still alot of nice hotels there and the weather is quite hot. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No eileen duncan | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful stayed at meridian in july 2007, hotel and food great but loungers full very early so took everyone elses advice and put a towel on one before breakfast! aqua park, circus, khans tent all brilliant. Swan restaurant cheap and cheerfull. going back this august staying at Iberostar. cant wait Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Danielle, Natalie & Ashling | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful We had a great time when we went last year for two weeks. The nightlife is unbelievable and we can't wait to go back again. The people that work in the restaurants and the bars are so nice and we had a good laugh with some of them. =] Was this review helpful to you? Yes No jodie | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful i love sunny beach it is the best holiday i ever went on i go every year Was this review helpful to you? Yes No jude | 2 out of 6 found this review helpful the werst experience of my life, not enought fanny. was a cock fest Was this review helpful to you? Yes No yvonne | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful stayed at tiara beach hotel wouldn,t recomend to anybody at least not british people. but hasnt put me off bulgaria going back this year. pepole lovely. kids loved the attention off the childrens entertainers. beach fantastic. just hope hotel ok this year. but will still enjoy it even taken our extended family with us this year Was this review helpful to you? Yes No lisa and liam | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful hi me and my partner went to sunny beach and loved it we went in may 2007 for a week did have alot of rain but tht was just unfortunate but it did get very hot. We have booked to go in june this year and cnt wait. highly recommended. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Elizabeth | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful OMG Bulgaria is the best place ever! I love it its soooo brilliant!
Ther night life is amazing and just a brill place to go!! Go I swear you wont regret lot...best place for young people
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
elaine duncan | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful sunny beach was fantastic!!!! lovely place n people were reali nice!!!!! i am gonin bac next year!!xxxxx Was this review helpful to you? Yes No lesley finch | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful if you are needing to rest and re-charge your batteries then sunny beach is the place to go. We stayed in the Victoria Palace -very opulent -our room was spotless and was maintained to that standard throughout our stay. Hotel food was not so good breakfast was better as you could vary the choices, dinner was awful we ate out every nite in a local steakhouse (philipas) which was really nice good choice and really cheap. We experienced the usual sunbed scrammble with some people going down as early as 4.30am!!Local shopping mal had good coffee shop and lots of leather good shops not so good in the main street be careful there cheap ([+]view more) tat!. Our holiday objective was to relax and this we did seen it wouldnt go back. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No andy collins | 3 out of 4 found this review helpful we have just returned from sunny beach, hotel karlovo, i urge you all too stay away, the hotel is in appauling condition, the staff are so ignorant, the language barrier is a big problem, we stayed for a week and they didn,t even change our bedding all week, but they did change the towels, once. breakfast was 7.30 till 10, the three times we went down for it there wasn,t anything left and they made no attempt to ask us if we would like anything fetching. we saw the rep the morning we arrived and never saw him again nor could we trace him to air our views. the only positive point was that you could identify the cleaners because they ([+]view more) did have the same coloured uniforms on, not that they came in our room. on saying that there are some beautiful hotels in sunny beach, just not the karlovo, please be aware, dont waste your hard earned money, you will be disappointed. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No emily simpson | 2 out of 3 found this review helpful i havnt been ere b4 but imm lookin forwordd to go the on friday the 17th lol im so excited :>:> Was this review helpful to you? Yes No lewis | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful quite a mixed experiencte from bulgaria, we stayed in the marvel hotel, rooms were changed every day, a lovely view of the sea from our point, large pool pool but a bit chilly sometimes, the hotel was very close to the beach i would say about 60 metres, one thing we found was the train which came to our hotel and took you into the main part of sunny beaches, we found this very helpful. the food in the hotel is quite bland and they seem to think that we brits only want to eat british food, well i no i enjoy trying new foods, i would recommend going on self-catoring because outside the hotle resorts you can find lovely restaraunts ([+]view more) with brilliant foods for dirt cheap. at the pool you have to pay for sun beds which are 4 levs which is similiar to the beach sunbeds which are about 5-6 levs, i went with my mum and brother and we usually got 2 sunbeds and a sun cover which was 12 levs, 2 things annoyed me on the beach. swarms of jelly fish would randomly appear and the sun beds would be collected in by the beach guys, on the other hand the hot dogs were fantastic along with all the other foods and drinks which were all very cheap. in the nights you could never be bored, so many things to do, you can find all your designer brands for very cheap, if you enjoy a cocktail or a beer just like me you would love the bars, great music, stella artois, carling. the whole lot, even though the staff didn't speak great english they tried to give us the best experience possible and there was just a brilliant atmosphere every were. i dont think my mum and brother had such a good time because my mum isn't a party animal if you get me and my brothers 12 so i ended up chilling at the bar thing at our hotel. in conclusion i had a brilliant experience and will definatly be returning with the lads. LEWIS Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Peter Hansen | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Four danish girls raped, 1 danish and 1 swedish guy dead at Sunny Beach in the last weeks! The swedish guy was beaten to dead by door-men in front of one of the nightclubs! And police and judge department is doing nothing! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No john | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful i loved bulgaria and sunny beach. i stayed in a fantastic great brand new hotel in july 2007 called crown fort in st vlas, just outside of sunny beach. the room was great and the complex fantastic. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No andy & judy | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful crossed between blackpool and beiruit sunny beech could be nice when finished. we spent last two weeks looking for good food, loads of places to eat and ninety five percent bad. we would recommend to look for the busy places but check out djannys by the cuban market. the condor just a few hundred yards nessebar side of go go girls on the main bus route the neptune for a fantastic meal which is by wacky paddys and fat cats cafe for the closest english breakfast you will find, the last two just off the beech good searching Was this review helpful to you? Yes No karin | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful I'v just arrived from an astonishing holiday at Suuny beach. The weather was fantastic. Food and drinks excellent, but some restaurants better then others. Steak House Excalibur was the best. Large portions, stuff amazing. U should visit it. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sue | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Just back from a wk in Bulgaria. We stayed in Pomorie but went into Sunny beach most days. I have to be honest and say I've never tasted worse food in my life so i'm surprised to see so many nice comments about it. Most holiday goers I spoke to over there agreed with me. People in Pomorie not very friendly but all seemed lovely on Sunny beech. I would go back again, I found it very enjoyable and cheap but I think next time i'll have to try bring some form of food over with me. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Lilly | 2 out of 3 found this review helpful I love Sunny Beach!! I have allready been there tvice, and Im going again in the end of this month! Cant wait!! People are very nice, food is delicious but the most of all I love SB becouse of its energy!The promenade is always full of tourists and so are the restaurants and bars. As a girl I love to Shop!!:) They have great stuff and they are very good value in SB! ;) Was this review helpful to you? Yes No kathymchugh | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful my partner danny and i just love sunny beach we have been going there for the past six years we stay at the glarus the maids are so helpful and never stop working hard our best place for drinking is the condor were the staff are the friendliest we have ever came across which is one of the reasons we keep going back special mention to dilana and milana and even the we toilet lady cher who teaches us a new word of bulgarin every time we go to loo but by the time we go back a few months later we have usaly forgot cant wait to go back in august. kathy and danny Was this review helpful to you? Yes No lynne currie | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful have been going here for last 7 years and was there 5 times last summer and 3 times the year before. have just got back after a fortnights visit and have booked to go back in 10 days. i love it, kids love it. thers plenty to do (at very reasonable prices) and the food and people are fab. have fallen in love with this place and although ive visited many other countries, this has it for me. the sea is very clean and warm and the sand is like velvet and very clean! dont know many who dislike this place apart from certain people who never know how to enjoy a holiday! i have now passed the test and the bulgarians call 'me', bulgarian.isn'tthat nice? try it, its fabeeeeeee! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No mrs pickett | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful hi my family has just come back from bulgaira we didnt think much of it as there is not alot to do for older children we thought that some of the people was very rude and we didnt think much of having to pay everytime you wanted the toilet. i think that sunney beach is for the age group 18-30 and not a family holiday resort. i could go on about it for ages but i will give a few good points the beer is cheap some of the food was great. and they do cheap tattoos and the fags are cheap. my family wont return. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No kath toole | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful had a great time there hotel is lovley and clean they change your towels and bedding every day staff are great it is so close to everything also. going back again next year Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Doug Carter | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful Great place, great food, wondefully hospitable people, BUT, my family were appalled and disgusted at all the exotic animals being dragged around the streets at night! Including a dancing bear which was beaten in front of vacationers!!! This will prevent my family from returning, and having discussed it with numerous friends and colleagues more will now choose other countries to holiday. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No james mc hugh | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful theres a great duo from dublin playing irish ballads and music in father teds irish bar on the south end of sunny beach on the main road. cheap drink and great craic, food is amazing, great night had by all 13 of us. staff are great!!!! Cheers lads Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Zoe | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Hi i went to bulgaria for 2 weeks and it was fab! Stayed in a lovley hotel all the staff were extreamly friendlyand very child friendly. Also good for youngsters, their are lots of nighclubs and moskt places have a 24 hour bar yay hehe. The weather was lovley i 12 days of the holiday was red hot with sun 2 where rainy but stil red hot. I loved every minute of it i would reccomend this place as a holiday to everyone there are facilities for all ages!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No ann and bobby | 2 out of 3 found this review helpful We were in sunny beach 4 a week, this month, been 2 many places around the world but this 1 was the best. people, food, drinks, hotel and bar staff were superb. the best bar was frankos and best resturant was brothers going back in september cant wait ann & bob birmingham Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Annika Lindstrom | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful I have been in Bulgaria for 5 times and I will tell all that I love to be n Sunny Beach.
I LOVE IT.
All the kind people working in the hotels, all tastful food and dinks.
I lovely see and the sand on the beach.
I hope that I will come back soon.
Regards
Annika in Sweden
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
angie and eddie | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful been going for last 8 years, going again jul 7 staying in oasis hotel. sunny beach has everything for a perfect holiday hope not too many changes now they have joined eu. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No kath | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful ive been to sunny beach 3 years on the run now this time we staying at the pomorie in august i think bulgaria is the only place i will holiday now it is fantastic cant wait for august. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Solomon | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Hi everybody!
I think that there are not so-o-o many places where you can try and enjoy the international cuisine so well prepared and what to say about the delicious bulgarian foods...I'm speachless...I like the summer season in Sunny Beach, to walk around and to drink some cold beer and eat some tasty food, no matter which nationality is it!
Regards
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
miriam | 2 out of 3 found this review helpful We were on a holiday for two weeks in Bulgaria in Sunny beach resort. It was our first time in Bulgaria but we loved this country. It is a perfect place to visit, Bulgarians are the most friendly people we ever met and we became friends immediately. We have been to Spain before but we recommend Bg, not only because it is very cheap, the weather is lovely, delicious food, but the staff is great. We spent 2 wonderful weeks there. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Mollie | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Some bars and restaurants better than others, loved 'Bermuda' on the sea front - great food, huge portions, really nice staff. You have to see Ali Baba at the Neptune! Don't rate Millie's British (read English) Bar - she plays favourites with the kids, rigs the contests, two of ours ended up in tears. Djani's is the best for prices and looks stunning - again, staff really nice here!
I'd go back for sure!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
gudrun | 2 out of 3 found this review helpful i was in bulgaria in july. it was the best holiday ever, i loooved to stay those to weeks i was there, i never wanted to go home : ( ! i miss bulgaria, and im going to bulgaria - sunny beach next summer. and i am going to have some fun. i couldn't stop drinking, it was so fun to party in bulgaria. nice people! and i loved the guys there, they were so nice =) hehe, but im going to say goodbye now. i miss you bulgaria!!
gudrun says bye=D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
dragana,belgrade | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful i was with friend in Sunny Beach, and it was FANTASTIC..the food is very good and drinks are cheap (always is happy our somwhere) we meet many people from europe and all impression was +..
if you don't know where you can go on holiday,me and my friend tells you : GO IN BULGARIA on SUNNY BEACH..wather is warm,and see is clean on 30m from beack..i saw 1 jelly fish and 1 cancer..
WOW and GO BULGARIA
p.s. 1 advice: you must take care of your things cause they steal.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
happylady | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful i liked the place was surprised as it was my first time. but would go for a hotel with air conditionion next time if i go back but the gypsy camp was great worth a visit. and antonos at the market he makes a great roast beef dinner just like home would like to see more floor shows than all the bars with karioki Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Julie & Clive | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Just came back from Sunny Beach yesterday (12/8/06) Stayed at Meridien hotel, absolutely fab tho could never get by pool so used pool at Arda hotel!!! Food great, good for kids, went on off road adventure trip & lazy day cruise, these trips are a must!!!! :-) Miss Bulgaria already!! Will def be going back!! By the way you must go to Frankos bar right next to supermarket next to Meriden, so cheap & always happy hour!!! Beach fantastic & good fun in the huge waves!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No dawn barrass uk | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful we v been the last 2 year best hol ever very cheap great food & drink great 4 kids loads to do day & night would nt go any where else ( unles it joins the euro) already booked again 4 nxt year. bulgarians fantastic people treat you like royalty Was this review helpful to you? Yes No katie | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful cant wait for my holiday to sunny beach in 9 days! it will be my 13th time- me and my family love it here- the place is fab and the local people are veery friendly and good looking! we have had some of our bulgarian friends over for holidays and cant wait to go back to see them all soon. see yas al there soon!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Nina | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Best Holiday so far! the resort was better than expected! everything extremely cheap, all locals very very friendly, weve only been home for a week and we are booking to go back already, would recommend it to anyone! 10/10! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No david"Rico" | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful hello! I was there only one week....I get really good time in sunny beach....its so beauty there....everyone is happy ...its only so good to be there men!
david from sweden
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
julia | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful hey
i spend this summer 2 weeks at sunny beach and it was a really great time!
most of the nights we spend in the disco "iceberg". the atmosphere there is great and you meet a lot of nice people.
byebye julia
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ryan | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Sunny beach is a really good holiday resort all and more than i expected. Very Cheap great sun that cools down at night and a breeze from the sea all day to keep you cool. Recommend to anyone. MY BEST HOLIDAY !!!! :-) (",) Was this review helpful to you? Yes No irene | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful myself & my husband john have been to sunny beach 4 the last five years, 2 weeks in july on our own, fab place to go, cheep, great and made friends with the people that run places like the ice cream bar at the saturn hotel (just out side) they have great cocktails made with ice cream & alcohol. then in sep we go for a week and take our grandaughter who is six, she loves it. only 18 more days and we will be back. so if you want a good time come soon. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No faye | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Sunny beach is a very nice place, being there twice now and going back for a 3rd time in aug06. we love the place there is lots and lots to do for the kids but also adults, you can never get bored becuase therer is just so much to do for very litle price. we recomend sunny beach and we can tell you that you will have a great time. car'nt wait to go back in aug 2006x faye 15 frm newcastle Was this review helpful to you? Yes No john & marie,liverpool | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful we are going to sunny beach again this year for the 4th time, what a fantastic place, restaurants excellent, people very friendly. night life brill, drinks very cheap everywhere. I cant speak highly enough. We cant wait to go back!!!!!!. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Steve and Lynn | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful We went to Sunny Beach in June 2005, Loved it going back this year. watch out for pick pockets and bag snatchers. My wife nearly had her bag pinched at the crazy golf near the Globus(i caught the thief). but dont let that put you off going as the resort is great Was this review helpful to you? Yes No deborah pettet | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful wot i lovley place bin twise going back clean and tiydy love it prise is good peopul great if u can go i would live there if i could Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Lisa & Alan Phillips | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Well what can I say. Brilliant place for a really cheap holiday. This will be our 3rd holiday in Sunny Beach and can't wait to go in the height of the summer season. It's such a busy place with plenty to do, plenty to eat & drink (especially Sharkie's Pub) who so so cheap. Wow what a great night. All locals are friendly but english not so good. The 2nd time we went they we're building a new hotel right next door to our hotel but that didn't bother us, obviously with an up and coming cheap resort what do people expect. Happy Holidaying. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No martin gray | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful sunny beach was amazing, drink till u drop, good bars, good clubs, good for eating out as well. hope to go back in august 06. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No stephanie donnelly | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful sunny beach is the best hoilday i have ever been i have visted twice and made friends the people are very friendly and helpful. some hotels can look bad from the outside but are great when you get inside. It is a great place for entertaiing kids with water sports and all sorts. if its just the two of you then it is still great with alot of nightclubs and bars which are sutable for children the bus service is great with freindly drivers and very well manerd taxi drivers and waiters how are very handsome and kind if you go more than twice then the people get to know you. In all it is a great family freindly place and is suitable for ([+]view more) couples of all ages. i would give it five stars !!! by stephanie donnelly aged 12 years old. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Gary | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful My wife & I visited Sunny Beach in September 2005.
We loved it, & are going again in May 2006.
Wherever you stay don't get full board as there are lots of nice resteraunts to eat in. We are buying an apartment in St Vlas (just a 30 minute walk North from Sunny Beach) a nice quite village over looking the bay. Sunny Beach is full of Bars & Resteraunts all selling cheap beer, yet we never saw anyone drunk as you do in most holiday resorts, I guess this will change in years to come but at the moment there is a great atmosphere, most people that we met loved Sunny Beach & come back year after year. If you are still thinking where ([+]view more) to book your next holiday. Fly to Bourgas Bulgaria & stay at Sunny Beach. Can't wait to get back.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chris Hayes | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Warm recommendations!
The beach is superb, but a bit crowded.
Friendly service everywhere!
Coctails available almost 24 hours a day!
Bars offering a large variety of cocktails!
Sunny Beach hasn´t really got the hang on the defintion of Happy Hour. They basically have it all day long :-)
A great alternative if you are looking for a low-budget holiday, but at a high standard. I went there with my girlfriend and we had a blast!
We ill definitely be visiting the place again sometime soon!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
joanne sinclair | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful my family and i have just returned from our holiday at sunny beach who hasnt ever been there then go you dont no what your missing everything about it is wonderful we booked up for next year the day we arrived home Was this review helpful to you? Yes No jo | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful too quiet for me and my partner, we went expectin to party party party. there were two decent bars on the front , the rest of them were pounding out music but were empty, everywhere had live music ie a fellow on a keyboard with a man on guitar singing delilah etc. the band at neptune was quite good, singing oasis, robbie amongst others, food was ok there too. the only other decent place we found to eat was tropicana and the fat cat did a good curry. everywhere is steak houses, hardly no kids menus and the local beer though cheap i think was alcohol free and just bloated you, so we ended up on stella and becks. we were expecting a ([+]view more) good laugh with the waiters and bar staff like our previous hols in altinkum turkey but there was none of that, they took your order , served you and took your payment that was it. we were very disapointed, we were bored as we found we had gone round the whole resort in two days. there are bungee jumps and bouncy castles for kids dotted about, and a tiny fun fair. i would recommend parasailing just to see the hundreds of thousands of massive jellyfish in the water. some actually come up onto the sand and are in the shallow water so do be careful especially if you have got kiddies. there is a bear you can have your photo taken with for 5lv, with your own camera, felt sorry for bear, ring through its nose daft pink bow on its head. you can also have your photo taken with a baby alligator whose mouth is taped up or massive snakes. I would definatly recommend you to take with you a favourite photo you have, you will see why when you get there, the street artists do portraits from photos and are really talented, we regret not taking one. we enjoyed tonys kareoke bar which stopped the music at midnight as did the neptune which was disapointing. there are women clutching infants sat on kerbs of the beachfront begging which was upsetting, this was 1-2 in morning! kids needed to be in bed . sunny beach was too quiet and we even tried nightclub disco orange which was just full of posers looking at each other all night to see what each other was wearing, no kidding!! if you like live music everywhere you go then this is the place for you, as far as i am concerned sunny beach is not the place for me, the food was no good the nightlife was no good and the people wernt very friendly, but hey thats me. you might just love it. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Richard Stibbons | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful Just back from my fifth visit to Sunny Beach so I feel qualified to make a few comments. If you are considering a Bulgarian holiday, NEVER book “allocation on arrival”. There are some very poor hotels out there and you’ll be put in one of them. I personally never contemplate any rating below 3*+ or 4* but even then, the hotel food can be grim. Therefore the first tip is always try to book “room only” or “B&B”. The half board price for hotel meals might look cheap when booking from home because it’s difficult to appreciate just how inexpensive the restaurants are. You won’t find gourmet meals anywhere but typically, ([+]view more) steak and chips with all the trimmings and a pint of beer will cost about 12 Lev (£4) in a centrally located restaurant and 8 Lev (£2.70) off the main drag. The quality of the food in these restaurants can be very good and I’ve never had meal which I considered poor.
Next tip is to be aware that the Bulgarian language, like Russian, uses Cyrillic characters. Signs look bizarre and meaningless but if you take the trouble to read them out phonetically, letter by letter, many of the words come out with a surprisingly familiar sound. It’s well worth taking a conversion chart, especially for the kids, who will derive great fun and some useful education from “translating” the signs.
My third tip is to be very careful about driving yourself around. Many roads are in an appalling condition with pot holes literally a foot deep. Also, the police frequently flag down vehicles to impose “on the spot” fines for minor traffic offences. The locals insist they do this purely to supplement their income! There’s even talk of brigands who prey on tourist drivers. I don’t know the truth but if you do decide to hire a car, stay on the main roads and be very careful.
Fourth tip is to be aware when shopping that practically everything is fake. This includes Adidas trainers, Golden Virginia tobacco, Nazi war memorabilia, Rolex watches (£3 each or four for a tenner !) etc.
Sunny Beach continues to be just one big building site which might bother some people but amuses me. In recent years, Bulgarian architecture has moved away from the “totalitarian” style and gone for “fun” designs with a vengeance. However, the old building methods still prevail; you won’t see proper scaffolding or cements mixers, just hundreds and hundreds of low paid labourers, none wearing hard hats or steel toe-caps (they’re presumably considered to be expendable). Despite that, they create some extraordinary edifices at incredible speed. If this theme interests you make sure you take a look at the Victoria Palace at the far North of the resort. This huge hotel was completed in just eight months and it’s worth a visit just to admire(?) the breathtaking vulgarity of the lobby décor.
Bulgaria is a laid back country which provides constant reminders of just how “nannifed” our society has become. Bus drivers will obligingly open the doors to allow passengers on and off in heavy, slow moving traffic. I saw a policeman directing traffic while eating an ice cream and another making an arrest with a fag in his mouth. A cab driver told me:- “They painted these white stripes on the road and we’re supposed to stop for pedestrians. I can’t get used to the idea – I still make ‘em run for their lives!” I find such incidents refreshing and amusing but if you’re the type who worries about public safety, trading standards and hygiene, perhaps you’d better go somewhere else!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Katie | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful i've been going to Sunny Beach almost every year since i was 1 and i have already booked my holiday to Sunny Beach for next year. The local people are lovely and always remember you, now we have several Bulgarian friends!. for everyone who is going to Sunny Beach, go to the Neptun bar and ask to see Mehmet, he's gorgeous! it's a fantastic bar with a fantasic band, atmosphere and service. Bulgaria is lovely and i'm sure everyone will enjoy a holiday to Bulgaria. i certainly do!. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No gharris | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful just got back from sunny beach..had a great time .the locals havent got great english. the food was ok ..if you have teenagers they are very safe..neesebar worth a visit. rip off clothes great value for money..would i go again? yes most definately... Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Margaret | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Sunny beach is yet by far the best holiday i have ever been on. There is a continuous number of things to do to entertain the whole family ranging from extreme water sports to archery e.c.t. I will be going back to sunny beach for my holidays next year. At the moment sunny beach is very cheap with food and drink at bargain prices, however in the year 2007 bulgaria will be converting into euros which i am sure will increase the expense of your holiday. Finally the night life is grat if you are upto it, however if you would like a not so lively hotel i would look further into the location details of your hotel, because some hotelscan be very noisy until early hours in the morning. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Marko and Marina | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful Yesterday we came back from Sunny Beach, and we're thrilled! We liked it more than Nessebar. The beach is wonderful, the people are very friendly, the the sites are beautiful. It's amazing how many hotels there are! And all of them are beautiful! If you want to go to Bulgaria, then spend your money in Sunny Beach. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No michelle henderson | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful i have been to bulgaria twice now and i thought that it was amazing, the air was clean so was the sand and water its so beautiful, i would defenetly go back ther again and again. the food is great so are thew people and the wather is just so hot and nice. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Danny and Amy | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful My fiancee and I are just back from our first trip to Bulgaria. We went to the resort of sunny beach and although it rained while we were there we had an absolute ball!It was a fantastic holiday. we stayed in the hotel sunset. I would recomend this holiday to all. We loved it so much that we are planning to go back next year. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Rod Johnson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Area is very cheap to eat out so make the most of it, all is well presented & healthy & fit to eat. People are very, very, friendly & do not take offence with a refusal to purchase from stalls & shops. Local busses are a pleasure to ride, cheap & frequent, don't take the rep's trips, the locals help with directions, & no 'rip-offs'. would recomend Bulgaria to all ages, & will go again. MAKE sure that you ask for a hotel close to the sea. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Diana Rycroft | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful GREAT PLACE! LOVLEY BARS AND NIGHTCLUBS! VERY NICE PEOPLE AND A LOT TO DO THERE! SUNNY BEACH THE PLACE TO BE!!!!!!!!!!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Lucy | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful The best place you can ever imagine! Great food,lots of sun, lovely beach, bars etc.
Hotels are clean, service is polite and friendly! Highly recomended!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Paul Spooner | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful A buzzing, lively resort with an excellent beach. The Bulgars are straight-talking down to earth friendly people who will be refreshingly honest about wanting as much of your money as possible! The resort was spoilt for us by the excessive amount of construction work taking place - one new building for every existing one. Very little open early in the season (most of it still being built!). Restaurants cheap but inconsistent with quality of food from one visit to the next. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Nicole | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Been to Sunny Beach 14 times and going back again this year! It has been the best holiday resort I have been too and hope to go again more in years too come. There's a lot more to do now and you can get everything there now. The beach is really nice and clean. There's been jelly fish a few of the times I've been though! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No the Erskine family | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Our first holiday abroad was to Bulgaria with our two young sons six and four and a half. Fantastic, Our eldest son had his 21st there too. Our first visit was 1991..We have been going there ever since. This year 2005 we are taking our sons, wives, and babies there with us. This is THE place. beautiful country. lovely kind people who always remember you. All you could wish for. I even had 2 tattoos last year. Now that says how clean and safe the resort is. Thanks for allowing us to praise this great country. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Jess and Sarah | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We went to sunny beach last year its the second time we have been. It has really good bars and restraunts all at really cheap prices. The nightlife is great and the people are really friendly. We had a great time. Sunny beach is the place to go! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No paul goodfellow | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful my wife and i have had two previous hollidays in sunny beach and now we are gong backagain because its so clean and the locals are so freindly. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Colin K Bell | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We have just got back from a wonderful holiday in Sunny Beach. We stayed in the Grand Hotel which was excellent. The resort is spotlessly clean. The beach is excellent and our hotel was only a few steps from beach. Everything is extremely cheap! We brought back travellers checques unused!! But what made it for me was the bulgarian people - they are so helpful, friendly, sincere, polite and a real delight to be with. We went to Burgas to see a weightlifting competition and we encountered heart-breaking poverty there. There is an excellent evangelical church in Burgas called "Good News Church". We are already saving to back next year ([+]view more) to the exact same resort and hotel. My advise- go there. Be very careful with taxi drivers. Don`t use a certain chain of money exchangers thats all I can hint at. You will have a great time. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No tony..annette | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful just come back from albena very nice but the place for me is sunny beach went there last year best of the two may try golden sand's next but more likely will return to sunny beach very nice. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No debbie | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful hi we have just returned from our second visit. love it love it. last year we bought a house in the country side in a place called Granitovo, this year bought an appartment just out side nessebar. Intend to live in house (moving out in dec) renting out appartment. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Miss Nichola Taziker | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Myself and my friend flew out to Sunny Beach in July 2004 for a short, quite break. How wrong could you get. Sunny Beach is buzzing with life and excitement and we both seriously recommend visiting Khan's Tent, it is a fantastic experience. We both arrived in Sunny Beach expecting to spend an obseen amount of money, but we were pleasently suprised with the prices of food and alcohol and we came home with loads of designer bargins! Sunny Beach is definatly THE place to visit! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No margaret | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just back after 2 wks in resort. More commercialised than we thought. Hotel OK. Food criticised online, we found it acceptable. Pool as described (small) left a lot to be desired. Spent our time in the sea, with the jellyfish(migration time!)Nessebar worth a visit but don't buy there. Sozopol is lovely. Khan's tent -food good, entertainment slick. Jeep safari booked independantly - drivers were all psychotic ex-army. Absolutely the highlight of the holiday. Having seen Bulgaria we won't be going back. The majority of people we spoke to said they might come back in 5 yrs when they've caught up with Spain etc. Natives rather surly, ([+]view more) not as friendly as Turks., though if your daughters are 13-17 they're perfectly safe. No hassle from local males. Spent much more than we thought. No where accepts Visa etc. Cracking thunderstorms at night. Warmest temp. 38, coldest 26. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Anne | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Really enjoyed our holiday in Sunny Beach. The food was great and the local people were really friendly, but please don't go on the horse and cart rides- the horses are treated badly!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Dejan Tonic | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I spent 10 beautifull days in Sunny Beach. Now I regret I returned to Serbia. Past time was a hell good experience with a lot of fun, party, nice beaches and beautifull girls all around! And, what is also important, it was really cheap even for us from Sebia(former Yugoslavia). I`m really looking forward for next summer and coming again to Sunny Beach! Next time I will stay for more than 2 weeks! Visit Sunny Beach and you won`t regrett! If you are young you will enjoy, and if you arent you will feel yourself young and enjoy as well! C U next year!!!
DEJAN from SERBIA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Paul Higson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Ive jus recently Come Back from a two week holiday in sunny beach. The weather is great really hot 80% of the time but just to make us british feel at home is does have its thunderstorms (4 in the two week we were there!!) There is so much to do there so your never bored all sorts of water sports on the beach , fishing in the sea and lakes, car hire, water park, horse riding to name a few. Restraunts and bars are every where so you can try something new every night. Very cheap and all bars have 2 for 1 on cocktails. I would recommend sunny beach to every1. Jus dont stay in hotels 2*. All in all a great place to holiday. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Mr&Mrs B Lewins | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Hi all readers: My wife and i went to Bulgaria (Sunny beach) for a week it was fantastic we stayed at Zefir hotel, Hotel basic but clean, staff were nicewe wern't far from the beach (stones throw away)place to go when there Nessebar old Bulgariawe got taxi there but its a nice walk there, a long the beach or round the main road or taxi outside hotel (8 Levs £2 )meals dead cheap, there is a promenade 1 1/2miles long along the beach, you got to get used to people coming up to u selling there goods they seem to want to help you, Mc Donalds is there to (there everywhere) watch if you buy tobaco its not the same as ours, bought rolling ([+]view more) tabaco it was all dry, all in all i would go back to Bulgaria Like i said at the beging it was fantastic 10 out of 10. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Lene from Oslo | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Hey, I just returned from sunny beach, was at golden sands last year. both r similar, I dont know which Im gonna go for next summer, but Im definitely going back to Bulgaria! AWESOME food, great men, lovely people (please smile more, though), the sea is so warm, and the sand is so clean and soft! LOVE IT!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Louise Suber | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Thank you for the best vacation to a tourist site ever!! Very nice area, clean and white beaches, very good food and beverages during the whole stay. A special greeting to all the nice people at Hotel Villa Bora and to the people working on the beaches. So friendly and helpful. I would really like to come back!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Roy from Norway | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I have been around the world, but Sunny beach is my place. Good and clean beach, friendly people, VERY cheap, many and nice pubs/disco, good food and so many pretty girls. This is the closest I will ever get to heaven on earth. Going back this summer (2004) with some friends. If you havent been in Sunny Beach, Try it. You gonna love it. See you all  28 july in Sunny Beach. ( AND PARTY ON DUDE) Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Marsh family | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Went in June 2004. Had a great time. it is fantastic place for the kids with lots for them to do. It has plenty of lively bars and restaurants to cater for everyone. Would go back but found the people not as friendly as the Turkish were we usually holiday. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Aaron & Lucia | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We were in Sunny Beach in June 2004 and had an absolutely brilliant time. Stayed in the Palace hotel in the north of the resort which was only 20 metres from the beach. The Sea is lovely, warmer than our swimming pool!! Great places to eat including Raffaelo's, mamachitas mexican, Filipol and, if you can find it, the Windmill which had traditional music and great bulgarian cuisine. Nessebar was also great for food and also a great place for sightseeing and browsing some local art. We tried a lazy day cruise on a yacht and the jeep safari which takes you into the mountains for the day. Definately both recommended! There are some lovely ([+]view more) cocktail bars right on the beach and the bars are lively and cheap for night time entertainment. The resort is quieter than most but if you're going, get there soon cuz it will only be a few years before it becomes a generic concrete jungle like the costas. We had a super time!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Joaquin | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We stayed at hotel Rodopi from the 26th of May untill the 9th of June and we really enjoyed our stay at Sunny Beach. The first thing which impressed me was the fact how modern Sunny Beach is, with discotheques like Mania and L'azur and also all the bars and stores. This vacation really was top and our hotel Rodopi really is a great hotel.

We will come back, thats for sure.

Joaquin
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
karoliina | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful hello.I´m from finland, and i was in sunny-beach 5-12.2004 with my cousin, and i will come back again with my childrens, maybe this summer, i hope! There was very meny place to children and very good food, drinks and it was very cheaps. people was very friendly and beach are best beach where i have never been. I WILL COME BACK! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No glenis pooler | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful we had a wonderfull holiday in bulgaria last year,the people are really friendly and the beaches are realy nice i will go back. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No sam | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful I went on a trip to Khans Tent whilst at Sunny Beach and it was brilliant. It cost £18 and has party night on a Thursday. For your money you recieve a large bottle of white/red wine, bottle of fanta, shot of fire water (Bulgarian Spirit) You then have a salad, then a potato cutlet in garlic sauce, then a chicken fillet in sauce wit potato and veg (can have chips if you ask) You then have ice cream cake. After the meal you watch a big show featuring magicians, showgirls, comediens, fire eaters and dancers. Its a brilliant night. If you visit wear clothes that keep you cool as the room get very hot. Also Khans tent is on a large ([+]view more) hill so take your camera you can get some great panoramic pictures. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No steven | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful ive been to sunny beach twice and the place is savage. the sun is belting down on you every day while you enjoy a cold bottle of Zagorca on the magnificant beach watching the bulgarian women go by. the nitelife is mad. the orion karaoke bar is a good place to start off in. then you hit club iceberg. this place is excellent with music indoors & outdoors. the lazur is another hot spot with its swimming pool. you have to experience sunny beach. you dont knoe wat you are missing. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No John & Tina | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Been to many places but..the friendly people of Sunny beach make it even better..great places to eat and drink..the beach is very very clean..and did I say cheap and great value for money..oh and the weathers not too bad either!!!!!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Krissie | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful The best resort, the best climate, interesting aquaintances and pleasant prices! Want here again!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No linda hodges | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful we have been going to sunny beach for the past 4 years its the best holiday ever hot weather lovley beaches and cheap beer. we stayed at gloubus last year great hotel very clean but not very nice food but then all hotels have the same food. going back this year as well. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Diane Rimmer | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful My husband and two children have been to Sunny Beach twice already and are going back with friends again this year. We love everything about it and particularly like the relaxed atmosphere. Food is great and even my mum who is a fussy eater enjoyed it! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No trevor hickson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful bulgaria is a great place to holiday, nice friendley people, and good value for money, and its not the mad rush like other med holiday places, its got history, sun, sea, and red wine. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No sarah | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Hiya, im Sarah, I have been to Bulgaria for the past 2 years on my holidays and Me and My Boyfriend and some friends are going back for the 3rd time this august! The first Year we stayed in hotel saturn which i agree is basic but its all you need because your out all of the time enjoying the cheep things that sunny beach has to offer. the 2nd year (2003) we stayed in Hotel Chaika Beach, it is so nice and posh and a nice night life but the meals if you are all inclusive....... you'd rather give them a miss and eat somewhere else although the soup is nice!! :) This year we are going back and are looking forward to it so much because ([+]view more) the nightlife is brilliant! Its soooooo cheap to get absoloutly pissed out of you head! Good clubs to go to are : Disco Soho , and if you have been u will have ost seen the erotica bar with all the prostitutes, well the cocktail bar next to it! its nice in there for a drink with friendly staff, also the bar at the back of the saturn there is a man called evo that works there! He is wonderful! Well any one going i hope you enjoy your holiday which i am sure you will! Thankyou for reading my opinion! Sarah xx Was this review helpful to you? Yes No gareth griffiths | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful i went to sunny beach this year in june. me and the rest of the family really enjoyed it there, it is so cheap. we stayed at the hotel saturn it was ok not the best but pleasent. if anyone from britain is going over on holiday try millies brittish bar for a good night. im going back next year. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No lesley | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful ive been goin to sunny beach for the last 6 years and its minted the night life is really good if ur lookin to party all night go to the lazur its the best and theres loads of talent the resort has loads of things to do and u will never be bored. the beach is a very clean place aswell and the resort is always clean
if theres anywhere to go on holiday bulgaira is the number 1 place to go. cant wait to go back next year.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Diyana | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful I've worked in Sunny Beach the summer of 2003, and I can say that was a lot of fun. You meet all kinds of people and nationalities. It was fun for me to work there, because from every client you learn something new. And the tourists really now how to have fun!!!!I really enjoyed it! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Donna C | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful My boyfriend and I just came back from Sunny Beach last night (29/09/03) and we had the best time!! We stayed in the Neptun Beach Hotel which was luxury its self! It was immaculatley clean with lovely spacious rooms. The resort itself was nice too with enough bars and restraunts to eat and drink yourself silly!! The thing you will find a lot of on the menu is meat in every form, they love their meat! In a place called La Bamba there is bingo on wed and fri and the last full house is for between 4 and £5oo!! The trip we took to Khan's Tent was excellent and very cheap (which is the total opposite to what someone else said, so ([+]view more) see for yourself when I tell you what you get!) For 35 Leva (around £15) you got a 4 course meal which was lovely! A bottle of wine each, a small bottle of pop each, a live band while eating then a show that lasts about 1hour and 1/2 which includes a variety of interesting acts! If you are wanting to take a boat trip, make sure the sea is calm!! When we went it was'nt and we were all sea sick! Also their idea of fishing is a little different to ours! They give you a piece of sponge with wire round it with a weight and a bit of bate on the bottom! In my opinion, not worth the money. Varna was'nt too great unless you wanted to buy clothes which did'nt work out that cheap. Also in Varna watch out for the Gypsies and theives(which are normally the gypsies!) They beg and when you say no, some of them slap you! Over all, Sunny Beach was a nice place where we will definatly be going again, hopefully next year! Please don't let any of the bad points i've pointed out put you off, my intention was only to make you aware! Happy holidays! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No jodie | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful i have got loads to say about sunny beach!!!
i got bak today and thought it ws so good i wud like every 1 else to know about it!
i stayed in hotel saturn(about 30-40mins travel time from airport) for 2 weeks starting 14th sept-28th, bed and brekfast...it was great...brekfast had evry variety wished e.g cream cakes, pancakes etc.
the hotel was great apart from a few people who we met there said they saw 2 cockroaches in the bar but no 1 has to of seen them in hotel rooms yet. i realy have began to miss sunny beach and the people we met there already! the hotel roomd where small and basic...but thats all thats needed and ([+]view more) the hotel are thinking about an indoor swimming pool, gym etc. for next year. It ws great and i cannot fault it one bit.
the resort of sunny beach was massive!! 8km just near sea front...evrything you want you will find there. i highly recommend to go on the scooters...6 lv for 30mins from hotel kuban!! they finishd off our holiday well.
one lev is the exuivilent to 35p...so we just thought of it as 4£ to 10lev.
things where cheap there...clothes, meals, crystal, etc.
BIG markets everywhere, even when not looking are bound to buy things.
not many good, good restaurants but we found hotel saturn had one of the best and was quite cheap for the meal.
i went with mom dad and a friend...it ws realky good and we are going again next year hopefully(but more in the main weeks)..but maybe in GRAND HOTEL SUNNY BEACH as the rooms there where enourmous.. nice shower.. hairdryer through wall... lots of space...etc.
the majority of the people there where going again next year of they had already been before.. which is a very gud thing to hear.
for nightlife....try lazur!!! its realy good ladies free before 12 and men 3lev to get in, but well worth it!!
it ws amazing..not like ur average greece, spain etc. it was just an overall excellent holiday apart from 2 days being overcast, but weather cannot be helped. food could be a little dodgy as in the german sausages etc. i loved this holiday so much i cryed when going home!!
in toilets normally a small charge to give to cleaner (you dont have to) but im just warning.
lots of germans there but as long as they stay away things are o.k. NO GERMANS IN HOTEL SATURN! THEY ARE ALL IN HOTEL VICTORIA PALACE AND PLACES LIKE THAT < mind you it looks worth it to put up with the germans..it is new and ws only built in july but looks like nothing seem before.. its amazing and beautiful waterfalls chadelears.. and from outside looks like gold! hotel mercury had a gorgeous pool available to evryone at a free charge of sunbeds. and neptune, and CHAIKA beach also impress me and my family! its great. but noptihing at fault at saturn either! a new bowling alley is available (new) at another great hotel... globus!! sunny beach is great... and to all of the people i met im guna miss you!!. im the girl from near birmingham..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Robin (Kiro the dog) | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Dear reader,
We just went back from our holiday in Bulgaria. Didnt be there since 5 years after 4 years working in Sl.Briag. A lot of changes but so good to be back (home) again! Friendly people, delicious food, and if you're open minded such a great country! Go there and get the experience yourself We will be back very soon...! XXX Hello to Diana Koleva (STEP), Radi, STEVE(Happy Duck), bye bye
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
brandon | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful After sceptically visiting the resort with my parents 3 years ago, wev'e since visited a further 3 times. We have made some excellent friends over there too, and I am currently learning the language, in order to find a place in the sun over there soon. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No colin ward | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We have just returned from sunny beach.The weather was very warm 35 degrees plus. Beach is very clean and the water is warm. Hotel Kristal is very basic but it is clean and the staff are very friendly. It is due to be upgraded and does need to be. The breakfast is a selection of meats,cheese,bread, there is also salad and cakes. gypsy toast or eggy bread is nice and the locals eat it with jam on....very nice,try it.The local eateries are very cheap.The Condor is a popular place but is very busy so you tend to have to wait a while for your food. Just down from the kristal is a little restaraunt called The Swan it is very friendly ([+]view more) and very cheap, a breakfast of egg bacon beans mushrooms tomatoes sausage{frankfurter type} toast and coffee was 3leva {just ove a pound}. We found the British bars tend to charge prices very similar to the uk. Beware the street money changers if you want to be ripped off these guys will gladly oblige so DO NOT CHANGE MONEY IN THE STREET do it at your hotel or the banks. 200 leva drawn from the ATM is 74 pounds sterling. A trip to Nessebur is a must and on the local bus service it is 1lev for two adults, in a taxi about 10 leva and on the boat from the beach that runs about every 20mins it is 12leva for two people so take the bus and spend what you save at the numerous shops and stalls. Another enjoyable night for the whole family is Yuzhni Noshti, it is a gypsy show where you can get a meal and the entertainment is free. It is open at 7pm until midnight and is an excellent night out. The James Joyce bar is the place to watch your Premier league footy for those interested and it's not a bad pint of Murphy's but not like in the uk. If the local food is not up your street then there is always McDonalds. The Tropicana down at the beach do a nice breakfast aswell. We did an excursion to Istanbul that included atrip to The Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace {an amazingly beautiful place} and last but not least The Grand Bazaar {64 streets, over 3500 shops}. The trip is best described as not to be missed but never to be repeated. Ther is also an optional excursion in Istanbul of a boat ride on the Bosphorus, you start your journey in Europe and land on the Asia side before returning across a bridge similar to the Severn bridge back into Europe. I am a non-smoker but apparently the local brand {Victory} are good and are about 45p a pack of 20. Local draught beer is 80 stotinki{stinky} 100 stinky to the lev. so about 30p a pint. A two course meal and a couple of beers is about 15leva{about 6quid} for two people. I would recommend Sunny Beach and i would suggest 3 or 4 star accommodation as opposed to 2 star. It is a very friendly place and we will be back next year. Enjoy your holiday wherever it may be and safe journey. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No alan-lee | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful we got back from sunny beach on the 11-8-03 it was fantastic, we stayed at the hotal opel whice is only 2 months old and we could not fault it, clean, good food, daily maid service (EVEN WHEN YOU ARE IN BED).  Only 2 mins away from the town centre. we have a young child of two and she loved it it was not to hot for her with the cloud coming over at about 3 o clock most of the time. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Yanto | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Just come back from my 7th visit to sunny beach and a bit of advise...if you havnt been yet get your skates on the resort is going to go BIG......yes MASSIVE...the developments are great big posh new hotels(Check out the Victoria Hotel and the brand new Las Vegas style Victoria Palace.pure luxury).
appartments are springing up all over the place and the once dark beach road is now a hive of activity late into the night.
For a great meal ask a taxi to take you to the MIAMI in nearby VLAS superb restraunt...definatly a resort well worth visiting but the old style Bulgarian Nights are making way for discos and western style ([+]view more) "Pop Music/Rock bars". The youth are now starting to find out about Sunny Beach which is a shame ...hope they dont turn it into another BENIDORM!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sanna | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Fantastic place! Like a paradice!thats all.. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Eleonore | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We went to Sunnt beach with no expectations, and we just loved it!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Jonas | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I was in sunny beach the 2nd time this year. And nothing was changed. It is nice place to travel to. Cheap the disco and the girls every thing about that place, get A+
Im going back for the 3rd time next year!!!
See you at sunny beach 8?D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ulrica from Sweden | 1 out of 2 found this review helpful Me and my family went to Sunny Beach this summer. The weather was very good in our two weeks and the beach was as fine as we ´d heard it would be. Everything was very, very cheap!
Some prices I would like to share with you: a big beer - 1 leva, a chopska salad - 1.50 leva, a whole meny with salad, soup, a plate of french fries and chicken, desert, a glass of wine - 6 leva! (At the hotel/restaurant Sirena)
If you´re staying at Sunny Beach, then I can recommend you to go to Old Nessebar, which is about 15 minutes away from Sunny Beach if you go by the small train. The train costs 1 leva to Old Nessebar (where the ([+]view more) cheap markets is.) Our children loved to go by this train - quick and easy! We went to horse and wagon - this cost 30 leva! This is definitely a place we´re going to visit the next year!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
PENO | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We went to Sunny Beach for the first time this year we were treated like royals for 2 weeks. It was so cheap, & most of the people are so polite. If your going to go, go before then bring the euro in. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Olli | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Sonnenstrand ist das beste was es gibt auf der Welt Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Chris Lewis | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Although gypsies were discouraged by the police at the far end of the resort there were some beggers and disturbing for me the sight of a dancing bear. This is however an illegal practice which thankfully on the decrease within the Eastern Block countries. Please do not enchorage this barbaric practice Was this review helpful to you? Yes No valeria | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful sunny beach is just wonderful place it was just so great that i was crying when we left the place... there is so friendly people and so good food and what is the best just fantastic night life. We had so mush fun thet we are surtanly going bakc to sunny beach and we warmly reccomend the place to the others too... Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Mikko | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Hi everybody! I can`t tell anything bad about Sunny Beach, except that when we were there last fall, weather was almost the same as here in finland... Well,you can`t allways win. =) Anyway, I`m going back there now on july for my honeymoon! That should tell you pretty much about that place! Who would take his beautiful wife to some crappy place? Not me, and I guess neither would you... So, if I had to put it shortly, Bulgaria & Sunny Beach are the greatest places, I have been in =) And I really have travelled a lot in europe, and little bit in Africa too.. See you on the beach!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No lisa williams | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful visted sunny beach mid may of this year. The hotel was fab and the beach was nice too. However there was a lot of construction work going on. buildings were being built and roads were being resurfaced. this spoilt the holiday for us. if we had been told about this previous to our holiday, then maybe we would have waited to visit. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No hilda | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just got back lovely place sea warm sand soft, but do not stay at the park continental, there are lots of better hotels. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No ian percy | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I've just returned from sunny beach and thought it was one of the the best holidays i've ever had and would recommend going there to anyone, brilliant food places to visit good night life and most of all the locals where extremly friendly. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Keith Myers | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just returned from our first visit to Sunny Beach, the resort is fantastic and very clean. The people are very friendly and eating/ drinking out is good value and cheap. The resort is recommended and we're going again in 2004. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Danny Nunley | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful We stayed at hotel pomorie in june 2002 and it was the best holiday of our lives, we are all going back there this year but this time we are taking a party of 10 i would recommend bulgaria especially sunny beach to anyone Was this review helpful to you? Yes No davy farrer | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Myself and my partner had a great holiday at the SVEZHEST Hotel in 2001, staff&managemant were top class, friendly, accomadating & made our holiday one to remember.
We returned in 2002 and were rather dissapointed in the change in manager that had taken place,the staff were the same(excellent)
We looked about the resort and found THE VICTORIA PALACE, BECAUSE WE HAD ALREADY BOOKED FOR THIS YEAR, 2003.
WE CHANGED OUR BOOKING AS SOON AS WE ARRIVED. HOME.
SUNNY BEACH IS A GREAT RESORT SORRY WE DID NOT FIND IT YEARS AGO.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mrs S Evans | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I went in sunny beach with my hasband, and is fantastic place to be. It's been my favorite all my life.
The problem is:
1. I could recommend more restrictions for the drivers in the area. There you can not cross the road on zebra. The cars will never stoped.It's look pretty scary.
2.Somone from the restaurants allways is staing on the front and invite the people to go in. It's unacceptable. they have the rights to choose whenever to go. It's very oriental and in this case you are dealing with westborns.
3. Bulgarian kithchen the way we are doing thinks is a bit to much cooking. The meat has to be tender. And it'slook prety scary if you serving without a smile.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bengt Tordelius | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful We were in Sunny Beach last year and we loved it!
There are loads of stores and bars everywere. The baech is lovley and the water is warm!
We are going back this year
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Lynze | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We went to Sunny Beach and stayed at the Grand Hotel it was fantastic we are going back this year for my husbands 40th with a group of friends.  It is a very friendly, lively and clean resort.  Nessebar is well worth the visit. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Gunn Halle | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I went to Sunny Beach for the first time in 1995 - and fell in love with the place and the people. I've tried out several hotels, and prefer to book a four star hotel these days. It cost a bit more, but it's worth it. Aircondition is not always necessary, but very nice to have ! The restaurants are quite cheap, and most of them have good food. In 2002 the chef at restaurant Fenix were outstanding ! I've never had any trouble with food or drink in Sunny Beach. I'll be back ! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Don Donovan | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I am returning to Sunny Beach 22/06/2003 for my 25 visit, yes 25. The fact that I keep returning says it all. I have been amused by some comments I have read. Comments about Khans Tent being expensive amused me. An evening at Khans Tent costs between pound;12/ pound;15 this includes food, all your dring, and a floor show try and get it in other European resorts as cheap. All I would say is book the evening yourself at Khans Tent do not book through your courier.Good night spots are Oasis,Southern Nights, Delfin ( The best), Khans Tent, Bar Variety (for a late night out), Bulgarian Garden,Windmill, and many more.do not let anyone ([+]view more) tell you that this or that is lacking in Bulgaria because it is not unlike other European resorts things are hidden away just ask its trere.Sunny Beach is a childrens paradise very safe and lots to do, Most good restraunts have childrens areas with lots to do. Beer is between 25p-50. a pint depending if on Beach rd or further back in resort in the bars behind the market area it is even cheaper. Hrnrys bar is 15p At Henrys for 4 people with one bottle of red wine 2 glasses of white wine and 2 beers cost pound;6.00 now thats what I call cheap. A similiar meal in Minorca this October Was pound;41.00. If you are a holiday maker who expects everything around your hotel then Sunny Beach is not for you the beach area is 7km long and everything you want will be found within that 7km. Nessebur is a must see area you will not be disappointed.I have stayed at 7 different hotels and have yet to find a bad one. One thing I would recommend is book b b there are so many good night spots and Restraunts to go to . Was this review helpful to you? Yes No george davies | 1 out of 2 found this review helpful Just for the record there is only two things to beware of in the Bulgarian resorts one is going on a late booking with allocation on arrival we went 8 years ago on one to Albena and were very lucky as the hotel we should have been was at the top of a hill and did not look very nice and heard a few people complaining about it but it was fully booked and we were given another hotel which was quite nice,and two is we went just at the end of August and for the first ten days the weather was beautiful then it became more like English weather overcast raining windy but these are exceptions to the norm.We went again in June 2000 The summer ([+]view more) weather was beautiful the beaches are brilliant the people are so friendly, we Stayed at the Saturn hotel nice hotel but nothing special except for the staff it is in a prime location less than five minutes walk to the beach and right alongside the town we went with a party of 11 and enjoyed every minute of it so much that half our party went back again in 2001 and yes we are going back again next year staying at the Hotel Kuban we know where it is and it looks nice but would love any comments anyone has got who has stayed there as people have already stated beware where you change your money when we went in 2000 we were getting just under 3 lev to the pound which was quite a good rate in our Hotel,but a friend that went with us saw a rate of 3.4 lev to the pound and thought he would be clever and changed P100 he should have got 340 lev but only got 247 a difference of 33 english pounds between the two any way he ended up just under P20 out of pocket do that a couple of times don't be conned when you see really high rates of exchange there will be a catch,I have also seen alot of write ups about Khans Tent my daughter went there last year and said it was very expensive,there is another cabaret show called Southern Nights which was about 1 kilometre along the beach road but I heard that another Hotel may be getting built there and I don't know if they are going to relocate the best bet is just grab a taxi and just ask them to take you there as taxi drivers are so helpful and cheap
Happy Holidays
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Alec | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Although the Beaches are clean and tidy i would advise anyone visiting not to go late in the season. I now this might seem obvious to a lot of people, but there are pakage hols still taking famillys out.
It was very cold and rained nearly everyday they were closing the resort down around 'us'  nowere to eat, no entertainment, and if you are a dissabled senior citizen forget it! Has our elderly freind disscovered,you are a nuisance
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
john champion | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful sunny beach is a lovely resort, lovely friendly people,
good food and very cheap.
plenty of bargains to buy designer clothes,cds,dvds,footwear,cigarettes. but beware of beggars,people on the street wanting to change your money and street changing booths you will 99%be ripped off.only change your money at the hotel.
i stayed at the hotel kuban nice & clean good service
friendly staff,had clean sheets 3times a week and clean towels every day.food was ok but not very hot
consisted of german sausages,kidneys,scrambled and boiled eggs toast and jam and cake.
avoid going end of september begginning of october
it ([+]view more) is the end of the season and the weather this year was not very good a 10 force gale,rain and sunshine only 6days out of 14.
other than that excellent value for money, so cheap got a job to spend it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
nata | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful neptun beach hotel-it's super.you dont find in sunny beach better than neptun.neptun hotel -the best! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No julia | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful This is a new hotel for 2002. I am going there next year can anyone let me now anything about it? Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Norma Tonks | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful This Hotel is new this year and not listed on this forum.  So any comments would be appreicated as it is our first holiday in Bulgaria.  Also what Medical provision are available. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No PETE ROBERTS | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Done all the usual, Spain, Greece, Turkey, Ballerics,
etc etc. Sunny Beach has everything. great weather, great food, great nightlife, and fantastically friendly people.

Safe for kids, elderly, and all who are looking for the perfect holiday. Addedbonus is, it's really cheap.
Only word of caution. Don't change any money at the kiosks with a guard outside. You do not get the exchange rate advertised, unless you change several hundreds of pounds at once. The guard is only there to deal with your annoyance at being ripped off. Change it at the hotel where you will get the best rate.

All hotels are clean and ([+]view more) comfortable, without being lavish.

In conclusion, this year will be my 11th consecutive year there. (inc. skiing.) I never thought I was one to keep returning to the same place, but this place is PURE MAGIC!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Lex Brown | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Sunny Beach is a nice resort,good clean beach sea is warm It has many restaurants most of which are good and very cheap.The kids were happy during the day but bored at night as there is'nt much for them to do.But BEWARE do not go lower than 3* as many of the hotels are below their rating and under NO circumstances go allocation on arrival as you will probably end up in the hotel from HELL.I met many other Brits who had went on last minute/late bookings and all of us seem to have been dumped in minus 2* hotels it seems that all they want is hard currency.If I ever go to Bulgaria again I would make sure it was a good Hotel and wouldleave the kids behind.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No