Reviews for Chaika Beach Hotel Chaika Beach is 4* stars Hotel

Sunny beach, Bulgaria

Add review Please click on button [Add review] and share with us your opinion. By sharing your experiences you're helping travellers make better choices for their trips. Thank you!

Comments for Chaika Beach Hotel Sunny beach

carly watson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful i think this was the best holiday ive ever been on, its so entertaining, sunny, loads to do, i really wanna go back but my folks arnt gunna let me, you need to come to this hotel, its really good service and the staff are lovley to meet to, its all so close together, shopping, restraunts, beach, pool, walks, sunsets, views, sun, waterparks. you dont miss anything here, its a one to remember, much love333 Was this review helpful to you? Yes No jim mckerchar | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We stayed for 2 weeks from 17th September 2007 - and for me was 4/5 days too long!. Our first visit to Bulgaria- and we will not be back.
We enjoyed the weather -apart from 2 days back to back rain all day-, and the beach was superb with every water sport available. A visit to Khan's Tent is recommended with an excellent floor show, and varitey of acts- "Bendy Wendy" was amazing.
However we found the food in the hotel to be poor, the Bulgars do not like thier food warm- as think bad for digestive system- so most of the food was never hot enough. Pity since at that time hotel was fool of UK & German visitors, no bulgars! ([+]view more) Over the 2 weeks we probably has 2 decent evening meals- eating out and a few decent lite lunches. We did find the local lager good and very resonably priced. Our experince was many of the local service staff to be surly and not at all trained in "customer service".
On the whole we found the resort to be "Blackpool'ish" and no offence to Blackpool or it's residents. Golf carts and rickshaws on the prom were a pain in the a*se. Replica clothing is everywhere, but some is good quality, and cheap.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Robert Dale | 1 out of 2 found this review helpful Well what can i say apart from the two weeks my friend and i spent there was awful the hotel accomadation was fine but the food in most cases wasnt edible most days we just had the soup and ice cream the latter we had to eat with little plastic spoons then we went next door for a big mac.
I wouldnt advise males to go on there own or even as a pair because at night you just keep being bothered prostitutes if they havnt got there hands on your private bits they are in your pocket after your money and tis was happening right outside the hotel in the end we got so fed up with it we used to just stay in the hotel bar where we found ([+]view more) the staff ok but they seem to spend most of there time talking to fellow country men.
We also found that looking around the shops was impossible because the staff always followed you around and were always in your face, we found the beach ok apart from fag buts every where and the fact you had to pay every time the toilet was needed.
I personaly think one week would have been plenty maybe the bulgarian people were just coming to the end of a long season and were just looking forward to going home as my friend and i were.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
kevin thompson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Hi just came back from a weeks hliday at chaika beach hotel. must say i agree with the food comments cold & bland, hotel was very clean and staff were very helpful, however i was shocked to see prostitutes operating right outside hotel every night which sometimes became quite violent, off putting for families with children, also had to fight for a sunbed as there were not enough, Can't say as i shall be rushing back but maybe in a few years when bulgaria as a whole has got it's act together. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Gisela Coonan | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful My husband and myself stayed in Chaika beach hotel for first 2 weeks of August. We are just back and want totake this opprtunity to give our appreciation of this excellent first class service we have received. The hotel itself is magnificent and so was the staff from the reception to the cleaning lady. Everybody was polite/friendly the food was fantastic the only complaint I would have is that the choice was so big I couldn't possibly eat it all!(would have love to!) Would certainly go back. It also was in a quieter area of sunny beach dirct on the beach and every possible amenity. It was clean, room service excellent. Would recommendit to anybody. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Claire | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Stayed In Chaika Beach, For A Week In June 2007, It Was Amazing, Very Clean, Rooms Were Stunning, & Had Huge Varity Of Food. The Pools Are Great, Got A Pool Bar, Pool Which Holds Activites A Few Times A Day, & Another Pool Round The Bak, They Are Very Clean! I Couldn't Fault The Hotel, Staff All Friendly & Helpfull! I Am Booking Up To Bak This Year, & I Recommend The Hotel To Yous All, It Was Such A Good Holiday x Was this review helpful to you? Yes No thomas haggan | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful stayed in chaika for two weeks in july staff very helpful, rooms kep very clean, had a great time, and am booking to go back same hotel next july. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No roisin | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful haya im from dublin and i stayed there from the 7 to 13 july 2007 with 3 women from the age of 16 to 40 im just back this week from staying in the hotel chaika in bulgaria for a week i found the staff rude and very un helpful exspacily in the resteront in the hotel but im not hear 2 complane about it all i found the hotel nice and clean and the cleaners do work wonders there the pool was good 2 but the sunbeds were redickluse as the ownly have a few bed compared 2 the amount of hotel rooms they have we used 2 get up at 630 to get a bed because by the time it went 8 there was no beds left at all in the hotel there were a alote of ([+]view more) germans who tack up a lot of beds for only a small group of them and they would have ther bed and all my 6 it was stupied 2 hav 2 get up so early on your hoildays i found the food nice in the hotel it was a buffa style and i see the hotel gets a lot of bad commeents about the food but i found it nice but i got sick oof it by the end of the week so we went out a few nights for dinner 2 i would recamend you do that i foung the service from the waiters in the restrant rode and very slow 2 get you your drinks we waited 1hour one night 2 get r drinks and in the end we went and got them ourselfs it was like that most nights the hotel was in a great location i have 2 say right next 2 the beach and near 2 shops and night life but another proble was the room we had 3 in ours and we found it very small and the noise from next door was tarable we could hear loud music all the way thro till 5 in the morning and the people next door would clime over are balkeny 2 get to ther friends one next door i gess we were just unlucky we got given room next door to them but i most say the cleaners worked around the clock and would do a good job cleaning the room it was nice and hot when we were ther so i gess i cant complane about that and i found it great for shopping but only go with half a case as you will defo buy out there i would go back again but maybe another hotel 2 mack a change but i would recamened it 2 a friend but i wouldent stay longer then a week but i would give the hotel 3 to 4 star Was this review helpful to you? Yes No glen ramshaw | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Myself the wife and 2 year old son stayed at this hotel. We thought it was 5* iwould rate this hotel at2*. we asked for a room no higher than the 3 flooor with sea view as we had booked. when we arrived we where on the 5th floor at the back, and where told that we could not have booked sea view. they changed our room too the second floor but this was substandard to the one on the fifth, so we had the one on the fifth. on the second day the air conditioning leeked through the night and my son ended up at the doctors with a cut lip and nose. the hotel has no doctor as was stated in the broucher. we setteled on seeing a nurse at another ([+]view more) hotel that did not speak much english and her only saying was childeren fall, (not at 7 in the morning when the water has come throuh the celling throug the night). In all they tried to fix it on 5 consecutive days, we got no where with reception so i went to see the manager after being told he was not in.( he was sat in his office) Far dues he moved us to another room ,on the 7th floor (bowl of fruit bottle of wine and a sea veiw i had already payed for).the meals where not up to much lukwarm, grease, my son lived on jacket potato for 2 weeks made for him by a nice young lad at one of the stalls each night. By the 3 night he could see us arrive and he knew what we wanted. Iwould not go back to bulgaria. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No natasha cranny | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful hello people my name is natasha and im from ballyfermot in dublin i went to bulgaria last year we flew on the 11th of june and came back 18th there was me and another 7 girls did we book again eh yea! there is 12 of us going this year and we are going back to chaika beech hotel it is fabolous the people are lovely and the hotel is lovely the cleaners are spotless about everything in the whole hotel when u are out and come back they have ur hotel room cleaned from top to bottom and fresh towel every day. as for food the have a great selection of food, fruit, deserts thats for breakfast and dinner the spred they put on is more than ([+]view more) u expect and they have the breakfast/dinner room set lovely. they have four pools three at the front 1 at the back which are also spotless a place to get ur hair done and nails in the hotel. some of the trips they bring u on are great trips to see the dolphin shows, water parks, towns to bring back ur gifts its brill. the beach is lovely the people are great and my god the baked patatoes full of cheese stop massive and the best pizza u will ever taste. pubs and clubs are great we love to party and thats all we did all week the night life is great and it is a very safe country all u need is on the strand u are on so u don't have to travel much except if u wanna go to the nessabar it a place that have great markets brill for pressies go by taxi its not expensive at all nothing is over tere. its a beautiful county and i would advise anyone to give it a go but i won't gaurntee u won't go back xx Was this review helpful to you? Yes No theresa cranny | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful a group of us stayed in the chaika in june 11th 06,, have to say we had no complaints,, the hotel is fab,, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the resturant is lovely,, the rooms always cleaned,, i would recommened this hotel to anyone going to sunny beach,, we liked it so much we are going back in july 07 Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Brendan bonner | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I was there for the first 2 wks in September 2006
The hotel is nice, we had to be moved on the second say because of the noise, we were on the ground floor. We then were moved to the 7th floor lovely room great view (badly finished off in terms of plastering and floors - but minor point) worse the walls and floors seemed paper thin - we had to complain twice at 4am about the ppl in the room below.
However we had a good holiday - the people are very nice - the guy that collects the money on the beach for the sun loungers was a gent, as the wee lad who done the baked potatoes on the beach.
The food in bulgeria is really ([+]view more) poor, espically in the hotel. Hygine standards are poor and food always look warm. We were HB but eat out most nights - its cheap but you get what you pay for. Best place to eat is Tanyas Bistro behind Chaika Beach and to the right - nice guy Alex works in there, the food is decent. Beware most of the food contains all the salt that should be in the dead sea!
The beach is nice, the sea can be a bit rough and closed off for swimming bar one or two spots.
The small town of Nessabar is lovely (get the bus, the sea taxi is expensive and can be rough) - and the food was better there.
Overall had a good holiday, wont be rushing back to Chaika Beach mind you, its like a reasonable 3* if you exclude the food.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
vivien davis | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful june 12th 2006. having returned from our very first hol in bulgaria i can definately recommend it. the chaika hotel was fab, ideal position, friendly staff, lovely rooms, good food, an all round thoroughly enjoyable time. weather was a bit iffy for the first few days but once the sun kicked in it was hot. ideal family holiday location as well as great for singles. will definately be going back. SUNNY BEACH IS GREAT!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No terry mccarten | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful just arrived back from sunny beach, had a great two week holiday, the food a the hotel was a bit hit a miss. but that is no problem as there are plenty of good places to eat (mercury 1,happy duck, happy grill for all round good food.) the only problem we had was the noise from our neighbours. but just phoned the rep and we were moved to a room right on the front overlooking the beach. the pirate boat is a great place to have a drink and relax. all in all there was to much to write about this holiday ,as we have been twice before. this was a great holiday and there is somthing for everybody weather single or a family. please say hello ([+]view more) to georgy and his wife at mercury 1 on the street of art, this is a great place for breakfast, which children will like (heinz beans, good bacon, etc.). Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Billy Robinson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just back from Chaika on the 17th June, what a place!!!!
My wife, two wee lassies, mother in law, cousin and her daughter and my best pal all went over and not one complaint, now that's a success.
Hotel brilliant, staff definately it's best asset as they are all so friendly and accomodating, food different to what used to but all in all not the worst.
Plenty to do and see all over the place, we will definately be going back to Chaika as I wouldn't bet there are any better hotels on the strip. Excellent !!!!!Billy
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
k hutchinson | 1 out of 2 found this review helpful went there 28/05/06 for 2 weeks good hotel but food was 1 star at best rooms were good would rate hotel 3star at best Was this review helpful to you? Yes No FREDDY | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful we stayed here for one week 21.5.06 to 28.5.06 I must say i had read negative comments, and was worried. but when we arrived, and saw for ourselfs, the staff 5 star. The cleaning ladys, very friendly and kept the place spotless, THE food 5 star The bar staff 5 star Overall we found this hotel excellant. p.s. maybe a change of policy regarding hyjacking the poolside beds . Was this review helpful to you? Yes No mary | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful We stayed in this hotel last june, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. the hotel was amazing, other guests were very friendly and the staff in general were HOT!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No mike love | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful we have visited bulgaria for the last 5 years this is by far the best hotel in the resort food hot staff helpful & friendly very clean
fantastic/
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
claire | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful My partner and i have just come back from a weeks holiday at this hotel, and WOW what a hotel it is as well. The only downside of it was the food, we went down for breakfast on our first morning of being there and none of the food was piping hot, especially the eggs. You had to fight your way in to getting something to eat, so we didnt bother eating there as it was so cheap to eat out. I would recommend this hotel to anyone but dont eat there unless you like your food cold. We didnt sample the fantastic looking pool there as we prefer the beach but did notice a sign that said if any towels were left on the sun loungers unoccupied ([+]view more) for longer than a hour they would be removed, and we actaully seen this happen. A very enjoyable holiday at this hotel and i would love to go back again next year. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Kate Evans | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We stayed in this hotel on the 4th of July 2005 and we stayed for 2 weeks. We went half board and the hotal is lovely! The rooms are cleaned every day and are a very good size. The food is good but if you have young children then they may not enjoy the food. The swimming pool area is lovely but if you want a sunbed then be prepaired to get up and sit at the pool at seven! The resort is lovely plenty of pubs and bars and the hotel is just on the beach front which is brilliant and that is where most of the entertaiment is! The resort is full of little stalls selling lots of fake designer clothes so bring extra spending money! Overall ([+]view more) the hotel is brilliant and i would advise everyone to go there!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Marlyn & Eddie Evans | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We returned from the Chaika Beach on Monday 6th September after having spent a fortnight in this hotel. The hotel itself was great. Rooms cleaned everyday. The food was ok. You could always find something for breakfast as for the evening meal, we only ate in the hotel at night a few times. When we did eat in we found that you could always find something to eat. The one good thing about the restaurant was that the food was covered at all times. As for the pool we never got the chance to try it. We do not go on holiday to get up at 6 o'clock every morning to get a sunbed. We visited the beach which is just a short walk away. It wasbeautiful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sam | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful The first time I have been to Bulgaria but not the last.
Hotel, very clean and well located with friendly polite staff. If you are a fussy eater it won't suit, but no other hotel in the resort probably would either. Only one toaster in the morning so be prepared to wait if you want toast, entertainment in hotel very poor.
Resort, plenty of restaurant/bars with very good and very reasonable food and drink, most cater for kids, only down side is too many tacky shops. Go places by taxi just as cheap but agree a price first. The Bulgarian people were very friendly and the climate excellent.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
mike dalton | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just returned from Chaika Beach hotel. I have to say we were a little worried about going after reading some of the reports posted. Whilst not untrue I think most are greatly exagerated. The food is bland but ok, but is really is so cheap to eat out it is not a problem. there is also only about 130 sunbeds around the pools to service 400 rooms but the beautiful beach is just across the way. The hotel itself is clean and in a fantastic location and despite its limitations still one of the best hotels in the resort. Bulgaria is a great country to visit and sunny beach a fantastic resort where you can still get a pint of lager for 30p ([+]view more) !!!. If you crave the 5 star luxury of some of the spanish and turkish hotels then go there. If you want a value for money holiday in a great resort/ hotel then I would recommend this hotel/resort to anyone. (just dont expect too much from its 5 stars). Was this review helpful to you? Yes No John Mossop | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful My partner and i found the hotel and resort excellent, the hotel was modern and in a fantastic location.
The room's were very clean and well serviced, the day bed was slightly uncomfortable for her teenage son to sleep on.
The food was generally of good quality, although it was a battle to get served and seated and above all relax.
The pool area was also overcrowded with all the sunbeds marked by towel's at dawn, and selfishly left unused at times, by all nations.
However the location of the beach is on the door step and if wonderfull to use and enjoy the natural location.
The weather was mostly hot , except for ([+]view more) a little rain on 1 day.
The strip is great for food and bars , value for money is second to none, the shops are a bit tacky full of fake goods, if you wear glasses take your prescription, for cheap frames no need to change money use the ATM'S(and get the best rate) that are all over the resort.
Try the cheap taxis, go see nessebar and the surrounding areas , and most of all you will have a great holiday. We Did!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tom,Jac, Joan, Graham | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We went to Bulgaria in May of this year, not knowing really what to expect. We can honestly say it is the best place we have been, and we have been on so many foreign holidays we forget where, but we won't forget Bulgaria because we intend to return asap. We did have a problem at first because we thought the food was always presented cold or luke warm, we asked one of the restaurant staff about this and they told us that in Bulgaria they consider hot food to be tasteless, but after that we always asked for our food to be prepared hotter and they obliged every time.
The value for money is unbeleivable and the local wine a knockout(literally). ([+]view more) Very Very good holiday.
Please treat the people with respect, it was embarrasing to watch and listen to some Brits on holiday, one woman even told us that they don't produce their own wine but import it from "ENGLAND" AND STICK THEIR OWN LABELS ON so I asked her which great wine producing part of England did she think it came from. Needless to say she didn't know, but she knew it did "coz sumbody told me".
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
carl | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful HOtel is excellent!Food -very good!Cold-maybe sometimes, but it is still gorgeous Bulgarian food, not disgusting plastic junk food from McDonald's! Bulgarian food is healthy, tasty, juicy and ...organic!Wine is excellent! I made many friends! Rooms clean and nice, staff friendly! Great vacation! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Kel | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I went to the Chaika Hotel in August 2003 and the hotel itself was excellent and the staff were friendly, but they could speak more German which is a bit of a pain when they say everything in German which is hard to understand if you don't know any. The hotel is right on the beach and near shops and bars. The food is cold but thats what its like in every hotel in Bulgaria. If you want hot food I suggest going to a restaurant or McDonalds and don't even bother going down to the hotel restaurant for an evening meal. The trips that Balkan Holidays do are good and well worth going on. Overall it was a good holiday, much better than aholiday to Spain or one of the Greek Islands. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Karen | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I stayed at the Chaika Beach Hotel in August 2003 for 2 weeks although the evening food was poor the breakfast food was good. I found the hotel to be very clean, rooms were spacious and clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly and I am English.
Perhaps the staff treat their customers how they have been treated themselves. As for the food, local restaurants serve excellent food and very cheap, so just eat out. We had a fantastic time in Sunny Beach and have already booked to go back in 2004 and yes we are staying at Chaika Beach Hotel again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Wendy Hoggatt | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I stayed at this hotel in June. The Resort is lovely but the staff are rude, ignorant and aggresive. didn't expect to be roughed up by a toilet cleaner for taking tissue to blow my nose.
I wouldn't advise anyone to stay here. The victoria next door is lovely.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
hannaford | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Stayed at the chaika Beach for 2 weeks, returned to the UK on the 5th October. The hotel reception area is beautiful - perhaps we should have brought our beds down there and slept as this was the only area up to the hotels 5 star rating!! the rooms were damp and not particularly clean. The food was absolutely vile, cold and repetitive (assuming you could actually get anywhere to sit - totally inadequate facilities) The hotel staff were ignorant and spoke very little english. The germans seemed to fair better - need I say more!!! Not a very nice holiday saved only by the glorious sunshine. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No coral | 1 out of 2 found this review helpful Just returned after 2 week holiday. This is the worst 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in. Room 113a damp walls and leaking bathroom. Moved to 601c complete with urine soaked bathroom ceiling. Contrated food poisoning on the 24/9/03 as a result of cold food. Staff rude beyond comprehension. CRAP CRAP CRAP Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Rachel | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Oh my goodness this hotel is amazing i cant belive anyone can complain its bright, new, clean, the staff are great and the breakfast is a most try!!! You are right on the beach and your near local shops. Im only back and would go tomorrow if i could.

Go to Bulgaria you will love it.......and Chaika beach.
I used to work in the hotel bussiness myself and this is a new hotel so you are going to have some teething prob's but what hotels dont in the world!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Debbie McIver | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Just returned from a two week holiday in a what was supposed to be a 5 star hotel.  I absolutely agree with everyones comments re the food - We ate 4 nights out of 14 at the hotel due to the substandard quality of both the food and dining facilities.  Our rooms were good but would compare to a good 3 star in Spain.  Decor of the hotel was good but the service did not live up to the standard of the decor.  Staff spoke very little english but communicated well and provided an excellent service to the Germans.  I would not encourage anyone to visit Bulgaria in the last two weeks of September ([+]view more) as this is German "granny" season.  All these old dears are early to bed and early risers which meant a lot of noise early in the morning and a compliant to reception at 11 oclock at night because I was playing a CD in my room.  This CD was not playing loud and was just background music to our game of cards!!!.  BALKAN Travel customers please note that when you are booking excursions these are priced in Sterling cash.  Balkan never pointed this out to us and we subsequenlty exchanged £100 travel cheque to pay for an excursion in Leva only to be told the excursions were payable in Sterling and our already exchanged Leva had to be converted back to Sterling at a less favourable rate causing us a £20 loss!!  I would not recomment the shopping trip to the Metro and Bourgas.  Whilst we were in Bourgas we were harrassed by child beggers grabbing our arms and kissing our hands and tricked by shoe shiners who crawl about the ground putting shoe cream on peoples shoes when they are unaware and demanding payment to shoeshine.  They asked for 10 Leva  (£4) for a service they forced upon us!! They got 1 leva because of the amount of noise and fuss they made.  I has matrial flip flops on and they put the cream on my shoe when I was talking to my friend.  Apart fron the fact that show shining flip flops is a ludicrious idea, the cream left a dirty mark on the material.  Be warned!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No John & Linda Parkinson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful The Chaika Beach 'Hotel' was the worst holiday experience of our lives.
The hotel looks impressive in the lobby and at first sight. However, we would like to list the following points which soon became apparent to us:-
Food: The so-called hot food was cool and the cold food was warm. The cooked cold meats were only covered with flies - not a hygenic lid. The meat that was supposed to be hot and cooked was insufficiently cooked and still contained blood inside chicken and pork! Yuk!!! Once you had been rude enough to elbow someone out of the way for a table, the linnen was dirty and plates chipped (or sometimes as a special ([+]view more) bonus they contained elements of the previous meal!!! At breakfast peak times a seat or table was impossible to find. Eventually, we decided to eat outside in the garden whilst it was raining before our food decomposed! The dinning room extension flooded when it rained and staff mopped around the guests feet and no signs were in place to warn of the slippy conditions. The shortfall in dining room hygene and organisation was pointed out to staff on more than one occassion, but their hostility towards these protestations multiplied as a direct reaction to the number of complaints. We were trapped! Now the scrammble for toast was one of the worst features of the dinning room. It had no guard and some of the frustrated guests looked as though they were about to push anyone's hand in that may take their 2 cycle in 15mins toast. I could go on and on. We definately ditto all the other complaints on this site but after two weeks of solid misery, I can't bear to recall anymore. My psychiatrist has told me the nightmares will soon end and I should carry on taking the sleeping tablets until they do end...(which may correlate with some compensation from First Choice.)
If I could offer one piece of advice to the Home Office on how to deal with persistant offenders it would be to send them to the Chaikla Beach Hotel. Don't bother with the expense of 2 weeks as we suffered... 2 or 3 days should scar them for life!!!
Go if you want to but don't say I didn't warn you. Oh PS watch out for the gypsies on the bus to Nessebar, we were mugged for £150.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mrs R Payne | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Have just returned from a 2 week holiday? at the Hotel Chaika Beach. We were allocated a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the glass roof of the restaurant and the noisy Hotel Victoria next door. Room was basic but spacious even though when we arrived TV not working and fridge leaking. Best of all was the bathroom, the size of a cupboard, no shower tray so floor constantly flooded. The restaurant a hit and miss affair, fighting for a table, dirty tablecloths, no serviettes or condiments and eating in a relay so as not to lose the table. Food was basic and cold. Supposed to be a 4/5 star more like a 2 star. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No J Hamilton | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We have just returned from a one week holiday at this hotel.   After spending the previous week in Pamporovo 5 star (same hotel owned by Victoria-tour group) what a let down!  I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.  Even the Germans were complaining.   The restaurant is totally disorganised and food isappalling (cold and greasy even if you are in early).  Dishes/cutlery are not clean, and often you will get a cracked plate.  Tables are cleared (eventually) but not cleaned.  It reminded me of a transport cafe.   The mini bar you are promised is actually an ([+]view more) empty fridge.  The maid service consists of changing towels/bed linen daily and ocassionally sweeping out room.  The reception staff are innundated with complaints and manager is never available, no wonder they never look happy at work.  After a brilliant week in the lakes/mountains where you DID receive 5 star treatment this hotel spoiled our holiday. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No alan dickson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful my third time in bulgaria just love the place tried the chakie hotel thinking 5 star wrong hotel lovely clean staff rude food sh,,t two lifts one that did not work for 10 days off our 14 day holiday by the way you are sharing the lift with maids with there trollys matrises ect the class on our balcone was missing for most off our holiday the canopy was also missing this hotel should never be a 5 star go to the victoiriay next door or neptune beach but dont pay good money for what you think is a five star. love bulgaria love the people shall go back but i wont pay P1400 for a hotel where you cant eat the food have to walk up 8 flights ([+]view more) of stairs and i wont be going with balkan holidays as they done nothing about our complaints. enjoy bulgaria. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No c jones | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful If you are the type to lie around the hotel pool all day, then eat in the restraunt followed by a few beers in one of the hotel bars then stay away from the Chaika. If you kike the beach and going out at night then you'll love it. It's a nice clean hotel right on the fab beach and close to bars etc. It is the worst restraunt I have ever been in by far, poor choice, cold food, grubby linen and cracked crockery. Going back next year to Victoria Palace, Bulgaria and its people more than makes up for the over rated Chaika. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Monika Kalowska | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful i have just turned back from holiday. i don`t know what to say!why? because there are not enough words to express my great feelings about bulgaria. chaika hotel is the most excellent, splendid and marvelous place, that you can find 20 metres from the beach. if you heard complaining about food, don`t believe it. it was delicious and tasty.once you try bulgarian food, you can`t forget it. i don`t know what is with english or german food, actually i came to bulgaria to try something different. i did on a super price. staff extremely friendly and ready to help you. definitelly back next year. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No camilla | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I've just come back from holidays in Bulgaria, Sunny Beach. We stayed at chaika Beach. I must say..the staff was terrible, if you asked for help you didn't get it!! they just looked at you as you just landed from planet mars.However..if you're german congratulations!!(i'm swedish) always big smiles and helps you with everything, nothing is a problem then.
so if you want great service please be a german! The food was awfull aswell,b ut we went to Hotell Victoria's restaurant, great service and staff there!!
I would defenatly come back to Bulgaria and Sunny Beach, but not to Chaika.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
VAL | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just arrived back. hotel decor definitley 5 star. though walls a bit thin could hear everything in next room. Food 1 star breakfast best meal of day, dinner food cold and tasteless. Not enough sunbeds for the size of hotel. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No B O'NEILL | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful LOVELY HOTEL, PEOPLE IN THE HOTEL WERE NICE. THE WHOLE THING WAS DESTROYED DUE TO THE FOOD NOT BEING PROPERLY COOKED IN FACT ON ONE OCCASION THE CHICKED WAS RAW, INADVERTANTLY AFTER EATING RAW CHICKEN I FOUND MYSELF VERY ILL AS WAS MY WIFE. THEREFORE DID NOT MANAGE TO GO TO ANY OF THE TRIPS THAT WE HAD PLANNED TO GO TO, THIS WE FEEL SPOILED OUR HOLIDAY, WE MAY NOW STICK TO HOLIDAYS IN THE UK. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Adrian | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I arrived back from Sunny Beach on Tuesday after spending a week in the Chaika Beach hotel the hotel itself is spot on the rooms are big clean and well furnished and all of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful, there are 2 slightly annoying things about the hotel though the 1st is the food, it is all aimed at the Germans and isn't very well cooked. The second is the price of drinks at the bars while you are still only paying £1 for a large beer (which is still cheaper than back home) you tend to feel you are being ripped off as everywhere else it is less than half the price. The hotel also has a Pizza restaurant in the ([+]view more) shape of a castle the food here is excellent but again a little dearer than the rest of the resort. The Germans (as always) get up at silly o'clock in the morning to place your towels but if you get up and want to sit at the and the seats are reserved there is a big sign telling you to remove the towels  as this isn't allowed (we upset a couple of Germans doing this). A word of caution if you are holidaying with children after about midnight the is a Hardcore porn channel on the TV so you may want to take control of the remote so the don't accidentally turn it on. I found this channel by "accident" a couple of times and my girlfriend then proceeded to give me a telling off.
In brief Great hotel Great staff shame about the food.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
keith | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful just got back from a great holiday. hotel staff dont like the english.food in hotel is cold @ s**T. but the hotel was very clean sometimes to clean as the maids dont stop polishing the floor. my girlfriend had an accident on a wet floor being cleaned at miday in the hotel reception.fewer staff working harder would do the trick by getting it cleaned quicker.
overall  id go back to sunnybeach but stay somewhere else.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Syd Harris | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just returned from holiday at Chaika Beach Hotel. Hotel is very nice. Food is not very good, it is ALWAYS cold. Breakfast is best meal of day. DEFINATLY only go bed and breakfast. The resort is fantastic, I was very surprised as we did not expect it to be so nice and clean. It is very large about the size of Blackpool. Not a lot to do at night, entertainment is very poor. Best place and entertainment by far is The Marina Bar. If you are going on bus trip with Balkan Holidays- DONT! The trips are rubbish and the buses are diabolical. Go in a TAXI. Only trip worth going to is Nassabar. Take an empyy case, the shopping is fab. The beach ([+]view more) is second to none, only bad point is take ear plugs as the beach bars pound out drum music 15 hrs a day. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Moira Lefley | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful The Chaika Beach hotel looks good from the outside, but the staff are rude and arrogant and the hotel food is not good. One night in this hotel was enough for us, we moved next door to the Grand hotel, where the staff were very poilite and rooms were much better. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Lindsey Barkham | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just returned from 2 weeks there. As others have commented, the building itself is nice enough. Rooms are spacious and air conditioning works well, but the staff are generally rude, and their grasp of English is poor at best so they are often unhelpful and the service is of a very poor standard. The standard of the restaurant was deplorable. The 'hot' food was warm or cold and on 2 occasions, the latter one especially, the meat was visibly RAW!! We took photos of it and complained yet again but refused to eat there after that. Cold meats are left out on plates for hours - not in chilled cabinets - it is all a health hazard. We were ([+]view more) all ill despite taking usual precautions of drinking bottled water, no ice etc. Would urge everyone to be very careful. Nicky, the Balkan rep was very, very helpful and his English was good. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No shiela webb | 2 out of 2 found this review helpful Just back from Chaika Beach Hotel. I would not recommend this hotel as 5*. First impressions are great, but the accommodation we were given was deplorable and the food was awful - lukewarm to cold. Sunny beach is OK. Great restuarants, cheap drink and great weather. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Fast | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I have just returned from a holiday in Bulgaria staying in the Chaika Beach Hotel, which was fantastic.  The hotel staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, rooms excellent and there was a nice variety of food available.  Overall this hotel is definitely a 5* and would recommend it  to anyone.  We will be returning in 2004. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No k.richards | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful this has been our second visit to sunny beach in 3 yrs, this year we stayed at chaika beach, the hotel was brill, sunny beach is a great holiday but its about time bulgaria extended its airport! the resort gets bigger and the airport is to its full capacity. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Tracey Cracknell | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I have only just got back from my holiday in Bulgaria the weather has been really hot temp bout high 30's.

I stayed at the hotel Chaika beach the whole hotel is splended I had a really great time.

the rooms are great they are large and airy
the staff are really friendly, they make you feel welcome. I even made friends with one of the waiters.
I would defenatly go back!!!!!!!!!!!!
and I would recommend this hotel to enyone. :-)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
ollie | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful just come back from chaika beach hotel
hotel was fantastic the reps are great
weather sunny
sunny beach is a great place
will defenatly come back to bulgaria
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
amy davies | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful ok the hotel and design of the hotel 5* but the food is cold and the price of a pint is terrible.  The staff are rude and very perverted and made me feel very uncomfortable, i would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Ally | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Agree 100% with Jimmy. Hotel is very smart but nothing to do in it. Food was very, very poor. Would recommend B&B as loads of good,cheap places to eat. Dearest pint in Sunny Beach also. Only one pound but everywhere else is even cheaper. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No jimmy | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Hotel + fabric 5*
Staff + management 2*
Food -1*
Balkan reps Drago + Katie 5*
The staff are arrogant the food is cold to lukewarm for a 5* it was deplorable no entertainment
Try the Victoria by all accounts its much better
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Otto from Norway | 3 out of 3 found this review helpful We`ve just come back from holiday in Sunny Beach. We stayed at Hotel Chaika Beach and are very satisfied with the hotel. Very nice rooms, clean and large. The staff were fantastic helpful and serviceminded. I will come back some day!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No irene swift | 2 out of 3 found this review helpful very good best service ever  brill staff very friendly Was this review helpful to you? Yes No