Reviews for Amelia Hotel Amelia is 3* stars Hotel

Albena, Bulgaria

Add review Please click on button [Add review] and share with us your opinion. By sharing your experiences you're helping travellers make better choices for their trips. Thank you!

Comments for Amelia Hotel Albena

stephen bennett | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful in two weeks we will be going back for our fourth time there are twenty one of us going the staff of the hotel were really friendly we got on really well with the bar staff dani, dido,and big ivan the resort was really clean and at night there would be people cleaning all the stalls are right outside the hotel i hope to be going back next year see ya there danni Was this review helpful to you? Yes No JEAN McCUBBIN | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful THIRD YEAR AT THIS HOTEL LAST SEPTEMBER. VERY CLEAN WITH FRIENDLY STAFF. LOOKING FORWARD TO SEPTEMBER 2007. GOOD WISHES TO DANI AND ALL THE BAR STAFF FOR EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Neal | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We stayed last 2 weeks of September for a week, rained for 6 days out of 7 which didn't help not too much to do part from drink, read etc. Room was small but okay, cleaners friendly. Toilet kept filling up and for some reason the water pressure is incredible so it was quite noisy at night also shower head broke due to pressure. These problems were rectified within 1 hour of notification.
Hotel seems fairly well run although you need to take extra money for all the tips you feel obliged to give people. On 1st arrival 2 locals are very keen to carry your suitcase ([+]view more) 20 feet and want paying !
Breakfast is in another hotel so if it's raining you get soaked.
Went to Dundy's bar next door which is very good, Dundy enjoyed showing his flaming shot tricks which is a good laugh food is very good. Entertainment was a little repedative if you go each night.
Beware of hookers working the street outside, if you go out (male) on your own there is a 95% chance of a proposition) BEWARE IF YOU DO FANCY A BIT THEY WILL PINCH YOUR WALLET AND CHARGE 20 LEV FORM IT'S RETURN ALSO THEY HAVE MOBILES FOR TAKING YOUR PICTURE COVERTLY(BLACKMAIL PURPOSES ?)
Due to the weather it wasn't a good time, that's no ones fault though you can't control nature.
Locals weren't particularily friendly they just want to fleece you at any opportunity. Need to be street wise before coming here.
It will be a long time before I come back I think.
The resort is clean & well maintained choose nothing below 3* & suits people without high expectations !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
billy thomson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful this was our 5th time at this great hotel, this year we took our daughter and her 3 sons. the whole staff in the hotel from the manageress pavlina down to the chambermaids were excellent. the bar staff are very polite and helpful, dani, michael and the owner ivan, also not forgetting his wife rosie who treated the boys to free ice-cream every day. we have all booked up again for the same time next year, see you all then. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No vicky & mark ottaway | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful we have just got back from our fortnight stay at hotel druzba in bulgaria. we had a fantastic time. the hotel is clean, friendly and we found NO bugs, cockroaches or anything.
spent every evening in the bar as they have lovely comfy sofa's which our daughter skye slept on til bedtime.
the staff in the bar are lovely especially dido, hello dido!
located in a perfect position. the only downfall is that the hotel doesnt have a pool, but at the end of the day the beach is so close that it didnt really matter.
watching the butterflies of the night was quite ([+]view more) intriguing, but one evening after people watching we went up to our room to find a male letting in a butterfly of the night through the fire exit door(4 floors up) and take her to his room...RIGHT NEXTDOOR TO US!!slightly unnerving and glad now that we locked our door at night.
there are lots for kids to do at albena and the beach is beautiful.
will definetly go back to resort and hotel, thank you very much for brill holiday.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
karen bowden | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful we stayed here one night as the hotel we had booked the laguna beach was full, the staff seemed friendly but the fact the hotel had no pool or restaurant and we had to walk down the road for breakfast was not good plus there were three adults sharing and could not move in the bedroom with the cases in there.the rep moved us out next day and into another hotel with nice pool and great restaurant.
ould not move round the room as it was too small
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
FIONA ANGUS | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We had a weeks stay from the 13th to 20th of July this is our 5th time in Albena and the third time we have stayed at the Druzhba, the rooms are spotless, the reception staff are excellent and the bar and waiting staff are the best to be found, nothing is to much for these people and there politeness and friendliness is brilliant and makes your stay there worthwhile, will definetely go back soon. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No billy thomson | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful once again we have had an excellent holiday at this hotel (11th- 25th june), the staff are great from pavlina the manager down to the chambermaids. the recepton girls were very helpful as well. the bar crew were their usual self always joking with you especially danny and mike, and then there was ivan who runs the bar, what could you say about the big man, this year he was more talkative as he has been learning english. he had my 2 grandsons working for a fortnight packing the shelves in the cold drink cabinets and payed them in ice cream, also anyone who is going to ([+]view more) see zak will find that he now has his own restaraunt/bar beside the hotel nona he is still his usual cheery self and up to his old tricks Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Karen | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Returned from a weeks holiday on 14th July 06, nice Hotel, no problems with staff, very helpful and patient.
Couldn't stand the female singers voice in the Hotel Bar but as it stopped by 11:45pm can easily be avoided.
Beach is fab, 5 leva for sunbed, 5 leva for umbrella, very cheap.
Lots of choice of restaurants, recommend the RAI restaurant, cabaret every night, friendly helpful service.
Loved the Jeep Safari, funfilled day with a chance to see Bulgaria outside the Resort
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Elaine | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just come back from a week in Bulgaria 23/5/06 and stayed at the Druzba. The Hotel was cleaned on a regular basis and although the rooms quite small especially with the extra bed in was adequate. The Hotel doesn't have a pool and even through he beach is very close at hand having to pack everything with three children to go to find a pool at the Hotel Malibu was a bit of a drag - as I usually forgot something and had to go back. I suspect that in July/August the pool at the other hotel would be very busy and would need to get up very early to get a place. We we charged ([+]view more) 2 lev each for a sun bed which over two weeks and a few kids needs to be added into the holiday cost although this was reasonable we have stayed in hotels and did not need to pay. We stayed bed and breakfast and again the breakfast area is a short walk to another hotel - even through we weren't there at high season the breakfast area was full between 9.00 and 9.30 so we had to wait for a table but the food was plentyfull and fine. I wouldn't stay there again only because of the pool but wouldn't put anyone off as its in a lively part of Albena and has plenty of amenity's. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No George | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I wen't to Bulgaria for 2 Weeks in August 2004. I really enjoyed my time there. I stayed in the Druzba Hotel, it was cleaned every day and well looked after. They served nice meals and had good entertainment on at night with english music. The bar staff were very friendly. I enjoyed speaking to Zlatco, Mike and a few others. They are alays willing to help and very friendly. The hotel is situated in a great spot. With lot's of shops and stalls around you and the beach just behind you. I hope to go back sometime again and I can't wait. :) Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Maurice and Mary | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Hotel Druzba is set in a wonderful position for holiday happiness. The Bazzar out front and the beach out back. Outside is flat for easy walking and very well landscaped. Food and entertainment, excellent in the whole area. The Hotel is basic but very well looked after and spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast is well varied and served in an attractive restaurant All of the Druzba staff are excellent and you could not meet friendlier or happier people.
we came in June and Sept. during 2005 and enjoyed it so much that our friends are joining us this June.
Making ([+]view more) a total of FIFTEEN and I am sure that they will enjoy it as much as us.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
pamela harold | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We have just stayed at the hotel the staff and domestic's were wonderful polite people bulgaria should be pround of them. nothing was to much trouble. we are hoping to go back in a few weeks time , well done all the reception staff and the rest of the hotel staff , the hotel was always clean Was this review helpful to you? Yes No kelly | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful hotel druzba is a graet hotel it may not have a pool but you can use the malibu pool which is just next door. The staff are great people i got on great with all the waiters and the bar staff, Zlatko, Vlado and mike are the waiters i still keep in touch with Zlatko as i have his email address there is something for everyone in albena and the druzba is in the middle of all the shops bars and restraunts, the food is fantastic in the hotel. there is something for the kids as there is a fun fair there is something for the adults, the beach iis gorgeous, i am going bak this ([+]view more) year for 2 weeks if you take my advice i would go there and see for youself, Was this review helpful to you? Yes No christina williams | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful hotel druzba was excellent as a young couple my partner and i loved it. the rooms were cleaned everyday, plenty of bars/ restaurants close by, there is nothing you couldn't do. The bar music was good, a local band playing english music it was a safe hotel but there are "butterflies of the night" (as the locals call them) around the main street not too many but if you a man on your own watch out! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Kelly | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Me and my family visited Albena in August! It was an absolutely fantastic holiday! The hotel was clean, and the staff in the bar(Zlatko, Vlado and Mike) where really friendly, and always spoke to us(especially Zlatko!!!!!) We will definetely be returning to Bulgaira next year, but be careful of "pikpockets!!"!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Paul | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Just got back from Albena and stayed in the Druzba Hotel for 5 nights of a two week holiday, and stayed there as a family of 4. The breakfast is not very good at all, and is situated in another restaurant down the road. The rooms are very basic and VERY SMALL. Two single beds pushed together, which is poor and not acceptable. Then for the 2 kids, they had bunk beds, right next to the single beds. There was just no space or room at all for a family of 4. The lights in the hall way are annoying as well. The receptionist staff are very helpful and pleasant and so are the ([+]view more) bar staff, but this is the only good thing going for this hotel. I would not recommend it at all. The entertainment in the bar are poor as well. They play the same music everynight, sometimes in the same order as the previous night. The best place we found to go and eat was Poco Loco's, which was excellent. After 5 nights of the Druzba, I complained to our Rep, and we were transferred to another hotel in Golden Sands, which was a 4 star and we got Half Board. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No martin UK | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Hi There We Have just got back from our stay in the Druzba hotel we found it clean if a little musty I put this down to the age of the hotel, carpets and furnishings are in need of updating, I found the lighting in the hall ways very frustrating as they only come on when a "body" is present they are switched on by PIR the same as you would would use with alarm systems, someone should tell them that using this form of cost saving actualy cost more as they are using mini flourescent lamps its cheaper to keep them on!  Also from a fire safety point of view they ([+]view more) should be kept on......
The hotel is clean if very 60s and is in need of a damn good refurb, if you get the chance to go to Golden sands and see what they have done with some of the older hotels you will get the picture, But the Druzba having only a 2 star rating I have no complaints, the freindly staff make up for the lack of taste in decor.
One very surprising point to make is the bar that is run by Ivor "big chap" dosn't say much but keeps his staff on their toes, The bar staff are very good indeed and I would challenge anyone to match their service. Everyone thinks they have made a freind for life when they get freindy with the waiters but dont be fooled these people are living on the edge of poverty and DO rely heavily on your tips so tip well. we had witnessed many people pocketing their change ...dont be so bloody meen Im not saying if your bill comes to 25 lv you should tip 5lv ask for change and give them 3lv I know if you tip 5lv all the time you would have spent alot of money purely on tips just make sure you let them know you are happy with the service and the quality of the food.
The Druzba hasnt officially got a resturant but I can tell you that the food is second to none and has a truly home cooked taste and quality, Unlike the main breakfast resterant that the Druzba has to use, the food is dross but ok if you like eggs and fresh fruit which were very good " no bacon only sossies" that were not to my taste youve got to try the baked beans!!!!
now for a swipe at the entertainment.
The Druzba has the usual keyboard with the obligertory drum machine the lady singer this year is rather good and sounds a bit like her from fleetwood mac the name evades me for a mo, the chap that accompanies her on vocals and guitar is well erm less than accurate on harmonies and completley buggers up the songs that she is pumping out I can only assume he is tone deaf, his guitar playing is really good though. One night they kept on and on and on "one more time" because my kids were dancing and they were desperate to keep some one on the floor....sad.
Please please dont let this put you off as the food is such a high quality you would be a fool to miss out.

Across the way is the Prague resterant you MUST try the Shashlik skewers these are charcoal cooked chunks of beef, lamb, or pork ask for the village potatoes which are like no chip taty you would have tasted also ask for a fetta cheese salad this cheese is actually made by one of the waiters mum in her village, it will blow your taste buds excellent. I would have gone back there a few more times but the over zealous "hands on" waiter was ok in small doses he kept on mauling my wife and kids, all very charming mate but know when to give it a rest OK! The sliced lamb was like nothing I have ever tasted is was young and succulant The peppered stake was equally tender but the sauce was a bit bland.
Now one resterant to avoid with a vengance was the Tropicana...Being a fish lover I fancied good old fish and chips and peas nice change you would think Wrong, The fish I had was non-excistant it was simply battered skin with tiny flecks of fish I had about 5 of these tiny flaps on my plate, they were so thin I could not prize them apart to get at the "fish" within I would have called this dish "fish flavored batter" even that is over doing it as the batter was soft and wet ..the pea's were excellent.
Yet I met someone who said they ate at the tropicana all the time.....
Oh One more cripe about the Tropicana ..they had a band playing inside which was excellent, then to our dismay another squarky bird on keyboard next door out side both playing at the same time and at equal volume. come on guys take it in turns like other venues do blimey!
on this occasion I didnt tip the waiter, he could tell me what the fish was "it is white fish"
On the face of it the Abena resort is less commercialised that most and I would like to see it stayed that way but there are very big plans for the whole area especially Albena and Belchik wich will be joined up in the years to come. This whole stretch of coastline (about) 6Km is set to become the sister to Golden sands which in only the past 10 months has seen the biggest and fastest building program I have ever seen there are three top class hotels that have been newly built with at least seven older hotels olong Golden Sands having had complete re-vamps that make would match any Florida hotel they are bloody stunning you must visit them if only to visit the toilets..most of these are being build by American and German consortiums. Lat year I bought 2 properties in Albena & Belchik they have seen a 35 percent rise in value in only 10 months what will they be worth in 2007 when BG joins the EU. I can tell you that buying property in BG will be the best investment you are likey to make....I love Bulgaria and the family oriantated people I just wish I could pick up the langauge if you try to speak a few words and ask questions they will take this a great compliment and like you all the more, make freinds with the locals and try to get an invite to someones home for a real sence of how true Bulgarians live you will soon find that under that subserviant surface they are some of the finest people you could ever wish to meet and are feirecely protective of their kin folk. I witnessed one of the Druzba waiters taking to an American who asked him about his mother, this waiters hackles went up and showed quite a different side that most people dont see so be warned please dont ask personal questions until you are invited too. If you feel the need to reply then do so by adding your comments I will read them with interest. Yours Martin and family South East England
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Lynn | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Stayed at the Hotel Druzba from 24/06/2004 to 8/07/2004 with my partner John. Hotel clean and friendly if a little basic. Near to everything. Liked Albena. The beach is glorious and very clean but very busy. Found a nice quiet beach near the 789 bar which is just past the ship restaurant "Arabellas". The food in general was very good but finding snacks was sometimes difficult as the resort mainly catered for the German guests. Enjoyed the food in The Old House which is on the beach. Also the Green Parrot was very good and the staff there were really friendly. Our favourite ([+]view more) restaurant was The Prague which is on the "Street or Arts", this is the main street which is full of market stalls, artists and locally produced crafts. The entertainment was really good in all the restaurants and there was plenty of things for kids to do, although we didn't have any with us. Just one piece of advice to the male holidaymakers beware of the "ladies of the night" they parade up and down the main street and tend to pester single males although they do seem quite discreet if you are a couple. The climate was excellent and although it got very hot during the day there were plenty of shaded areas and it went nice and cool at night. I think I will probably go back to Bulgaria but perhaps only for a week next time. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Hazel Nicoletti | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful Stayed in Drouzhba from 24-06-04 - 03-07-04, staff very friendly and very good with children. Ivor the boss was very good to my kids, he gave them free sweets everyday. The barman Danny was good fun and so were the bar and food waiters, their names were Zack, Vlado and Mike. They were great craic and Zack could change to any accent especially scouser. Hotel near the beach and the pool, rooms very clean and people say they heard noise but we never had any bother. You are near to everything, all the stalls and the restaurants and bars. Poco Loco is a dance restaurant, ([+]view more) when the waitresses are not serving food they dance on the stage, very good entertainment for the kids. Peter's House, Tropical and Staria Dub are the best eating places and so is the drouzbha hotel restaurant. Can't wait to get back to Drouzhba next year. EXCELLENT!!! Was this review helpful to you? Yes No sarah | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful we{me my husband and 2 children}loved the hotel the staff were friendly and helpfull, and the hotel was really clean, we loved it as it is right in the middle of everything although some have commented that the street market is noisy at night we certanly didnt hear any noise at all, its close to the beach and the children picked to go to bulgaria over a holiday to disneyworld florida!! we cant wait to go back in august, only 6 weeks to go. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No george(the cap )lynch | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful I HAVE BEEN TO THE DRUZBA MANY TIMES AND EVERY TIME THE PEOPLE THERE ARE SO FREINDLY. I AM A SINGLE FATHER OF 3 AND ALL OF THE STAFF THERE WERE SO CAREING TO MY CHILDREN AS SPECIALY BELLA ON RECEPION AND MY BIG FREIND IVON IN THE BAR I WILL NOT SEE THEM THIS YEAR BUT I HOPE THEY ARE ALL OK AND GOOD LOOK THIS SEASON . CHW FROM GEORGE(THE CAP)LYNCH Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Istvan Diosi | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful We had been here two times, in 2002 and 2003. (Three kids, my wife and me) The hotel clean and friendly. What is important, the beach is very closed to hotel. (1 minute). There was very very noisely "main street" and live music from the bar.
Otherwise, everything was OK.
(from Hungary)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Trevor & Jeannie Mullally | 1 out of 1 found this review helpful very clean,excelant service,very friendly and lovely people.We had a really first class holiday. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No